SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5672 (Misses' Dress)

26 more reviews
Viewed 465 times 
Reviewed by:tigergirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tigergirlstar
QLD Australia
Member since: 11/30/09
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/7/12 0:00 AM
Last Updated:7/7/12 0:03 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
tigergirl said...
@shelbr - Yes, the pleats are on the wrong side but they are stitched in.
10/16/12 4:59 PM
ShelBr said...
After looking at other reviews I am puzzled as to which side the pleats are stitched down on your dress. Yours don't appear to be stitched down on one side, e.g. see mimi g. review. While hers appear to be on the other side to the pattern illustration, the stitching is quite clear. That probably forces the direction of the pleat. The problem with the bodice is simply that your right boob needs to be lifted as high as your left. Are your pleats coming from the right too? Maybe the left side is taken in too much, pulling the pleats horizontal. Looking at your blog post, the top 3 pics looks best, but the pleats need to be stitched down to tidy them up and flatten them. Sorry, I get a bit tenaceous about making a pattern work, especially when it looks so good.
7/18/12 5:18 AM
tigergirl said...
thanks ShelBr but I think I tried every thing possible, short of attaching a brick to the hem. @ fryman - I'm not sure I understand what you mean - do you think it needed more ease or less?
7/17/12 7:25 AM
ShelBr said...
You have such a good figure, this style should have suited you - but the pleats are going horizontally aross the tummy, instead of diagonally as per the illustration. Is there any way you can drag them down on the right side?
7/16/12 4:34 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I made this dress also and in the end it just did not work well for me either.
7/8/12 4:59 PM
fryman said...
perhaps a sloper would have helped? Also, swayback alteration/ease allowance would be appropriate? Thanks for sharing.
7/8/12 4:00 PM
tigergirl said...
You've got to either laugh or cry right? And I'm not a pretty crier.
7/8/12 3:15 AM
carolynw said...
Well your sense of humour helped - these things happen and it's good that you can laugh if off!
7/7/12 5:54 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I'm so sorry the reality didn't match the dream. If it's any consolation at all, your review is a winner!
7/7/12 7:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern Designed after Burda 8123

photo
by: julliams

Review
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

More Info
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

More Info
Burda 7828

photo
by: velosewer

Review