SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5672 (Misses' Dress)

26 more reviews
Viewed 462 times 
Reviewed by:tigergirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tigergirlstar
QLD Australia
Member since: 11/30/09
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/7/12 0:00 AM
Last Updated:7/7/12 0:03 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
I'm so sorry the reality didn't match the dream. If it's any consolation at all, your review is a winner!
7/7/12 7:26 AM
carolynw said...
Well your sense of humour helped - these things happen and it's good that you can laugh if off!
7/7/12 5:54 PM
tigergirl said...
You've got to either laugh or cry right? And I'm not a pretty crier.
7/8/12 3:15 AM
fryman said...
perhaps a sloper would have helped? Also, swayback alteration/ease allowance would be appropriate? Thanks for sharing.
7/8/12 4:00 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I made this dress also and in the end it just did not work well for me either.
7/8/12 4:59 PM
ShelBr said...
You have such a good figure, this style should have suited you - but the pleats are going horizontally aross the tummy, instead of diagonally as per the illustration. Is there any way you can drag them down on the right side?
7/16/12 4:34 AM
tigergirl said...
thanks ShelBr but I think I tried every thing possible, short of attaching a brick to the hem. @ fryman - I'm not sure I understand what you mean - do you think it needed more ease or less?
7/17/12 7:25 AM
ShelBr said...
After looking at other reviews I am puzzled as to which side the pleats are stitched down on your dress. Yours don't appear to be stitched down on one side, e.g. see mimi g. review. While hers appear to be on the other side to the pattern illustration, the stitching is quite clear. That probably forces the direction of the pleat. The problem with the bodice is simply that your right boob needs to be lifted as high as your left. Are your pleats coming from the right too? Maybe the left side is taken in too much, pulling the pleats horizontal. Looking at your blog post, the top 3 pics looks best, but the pleats need to be stitched down to tidy them up and flatten them. Sorry, I get a bit tenaceous about making a pattern work, especially when it looks so good.
7/18/12 5:18 AM
tigergirl said...
@shelbr - Yes, the pleats are on the wrong side but they are stitched in.
10/16/12 4:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Buy Now