SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2759 (Anne Klein)

16 more reviews
Viewed 2806 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 185
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 270 people
patterns reviewed: 174
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/1/05 2:05 PM
Last Updated:2/5/05 5:04 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 31 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
47 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
Excellent review, thank you! I have made the pants from this pattern, and liked them well enough. I didn't bother with the jacket because I just don't wear that type of jacket anymore. After your review, I'm glad I didn't bother with it. -Ann
1/1/05 2:26 PM
Jan B. said...
Your jacket looks wonderful!! It's so professional. One would never know that your struggled with it. I looked at your other coat in your albumn too. It's totally professional also. I look forward to further reviews from you.
1/1/05 2:33 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Wow, thanks so much for this info! This pattern is one that I have and even have fabric designated for...now I know I need to pay some attention to the sleeves before I cut my precious Armani wool. I love the way this finished jacket looks; so refined and elegant that I think I'll go ahead and tackle it...but your cautions will help me out a lot! (I intended to omit the fake chest pocket ;) )
1/1/05 2:42 PM
PegL said...
Beautifully detailed jacket. Very informative review too.
1/1/05 2:50 PM
els said...
Great tailored jacket.
1/1/05 2:58 PM
Eli said...
It looks perfect to me, I would have never told you had problem with some parts!
1/1/05 3:00 PM
Elona said...
The finished jacket is really beautiful. You did a marvelous job saving it. This jacket style reminds me a LOT of Loes Hinse's "Bistro" jacket, and might give much the same effect with less frustration than the Vogue model.
1/1/05 3:07 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your jacket is just beautiful! The tailoring looks impeccable. Thanks for the warning about the pattern -- I have it and will think twice before using it.
1/1/05 3:39 PM
Georgene said...
Thank you for the excellent review. Just serves to remind us that often its the pattern, and not our bodies which are at fault! I love the comment about the posing of the model on the pattern envelope.
1/1/05 3:46 PM
Mandolin82 said...
Beautiful jacket, great review. Thanks for the recommendation for the Singer book as reference.
1/1/05 4:20 PM
petra said...
This looks like Saville Row tailoring... you would never know that you had struggled with the pattern. I don;t think that I will be buying it after this though..not sure that my pattern adjusting skills are up to it! Love the lining, great idea to use necktie fabric (where do you buy that??)
1/1/05 4:29 PM
ClaireC said...
Thank you for the detailed review. The jacket is beautiful and professional. I'd love to know what goes on behind the scenes at pattern companies. Don't they realize something is badly drafted? Or do they not want to spend the $$ to correct the error?
1/1/05 4:32 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your jacket is so stunning!! Wow!! Thank you for the excellent review. I was looking at this pattern and wondering if it was a worthwile investment to make the jacket.
1/1/05 5:07 PM
Levone said...
Great looking jacket, very professional. Also, excellent review.
1/1/05 6:03 PM
KathleenS said...
Welcome to PR, and thanks for the very informative review. Your hard work paid off - your jacket looks fantastic.
1/1/05 6:07 PM
Sue Anfang said...
Kay you made a beautiful jacket! I work at Fabricland in Toronto -- some of the menswear ends we got last fall were rumoured to have come from Armani (of course a few pieces ended up in my stash!!) Sue
1/1/05 6:16 PM
KarmenG said...
Thank you so much for all your wonderful information. I have that pattern and plan to make it - it's so helpful to hear your experience, althouth it sound disappointing for you. I'll have to think twice about this before I give it a try. BTW your jacket looks fabulous, you should be proud.
1/1/05 6:45 PM
Tiner W said...
Absolutely gorgeous! That's what I aspire to!
1/1/05 6:52 PM
candyo said...
Wow, am I glad you found PR!!! I really enjoyed reading about your sewing challenges, and empathize with your frustrations. I can't wait for your next review!!
1/1/05 7:02 PM
Celeste said...
Absolutely first-rate looking!
1/1/05 8:07 PM
PhyllisC said...
Kay - even with all your struggles the sleeve caps and the slope to the shoulders looks perfect. I'd love to hear more about the internal structure - did you use hair canvas and pad stiching?
1/1/05 9:53 PM
PhyllisC said...
Kay - even with all your struggles sleeve caps and the slope to the shoulders looks prefect. I'd love to hear more about the internal structure - did you use hair canvas and pad stiching?
1/1/05 9:55 PM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Wow! Wonderful tailoring. That tie fabric lining is such an excellent match with the fabric.
1/1/05 10:29 PM
Kathy Russell said...
after so much struggle it came out beautiful. great jacket.
1/1/05 11:57 PM
Kathryn said...
Even though this is your first review, Kay, I have added you to my list of "favorite reviewers". Your work is awesome. I'm now heading off to read your other reviews. Thank you so much for sharing.
1/2/05 7:04 AM
Claudia Resch said...
Beautiful tailoring job. Good for you for persevering.
1/2/05 9:07 AM
Gloria Allender said...
Excellent review. Your jacket is lovely and does not reveal the struggles you endured. You did an excellent job!
1/2/05 9:22 AM
SewTwin said...
GEEEEEEZ! What a JACKET! Armani or Calvin Klein should have you on their advisor list, especially Vogue! A very few PR's in my humble opinon qualify for double advanced rating. I wish all the PR pics were as detailed as yours, you don't have to imagine the rest.Was this pic shot site difficult to set up?Lov the jacket,sorry the pattern was a pain!
1/2/05 11:12 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Lovely jacket! I'd love to have your knowlege of the tailoring techniques you used here. Especially how to make the lining to fit inside the garment, as I am about to make a lined jacket. I have always thought there had to be a way to alter lining to fit nicer under the garment. Having said all of that, I think your jacket is beautiful and looks very well tailored and fitted. One can tell you are adept at tailoring when viewing your finished product.
1/2/05 11:55 AM
Lilibet said...
Your jacket looks superb. I admire your skill and look forward to your future reviews.
1/2/05 3:28 PM
AnneM said...
I so agree with you on the fake pockets - RTW manufacturers do that to cut costs, but if you are making it you don't want to have to draft your own pattern pieces! Your jacket is beautiful. I just love the neckline. I wish the pattern was better.
1/2/05 7:54 PM
Reighley said...
Ditto on all the compliments above. I also noticed how beautifully pressed your jacket appeared, another set of skills you obviously have.
1/3/05 9:11 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Late welcome to PR, and I second all the comments. Really lovely sewing skills! Thanks for the informative reivew!
1/3/05 10:06 PM
Hope K said...
Thanks for the warning! I made the shirt but I'll steer clear of the jacket because I know I don't have the skills to pull it off.
1/5/05 1:24 PM
layla said...
Kay...thanks so much for the review of this pattern which I just recently bought. Yours came out beautiful !! I love Vogue mostly because I have had luck with the fit, but I'm a little concerned about the sleeves on this one. What size Jacket did you make ? Just curious. Anyway it's beautiful. Looks better than anything I've seen in the stores lately !!
1/5/05 10:17 PM
Dobedowawa said...
Thank you so much for the review, I have the pattern, and wanted to invest in the next size envelope (I cut across 3 sizes ...), but based on this review I shall not go there. The top has been reviewed, and as far as I remember was satisfactory. I shall stick to that. What a pity, though, the jacket has beautiful lines, and your skills have done it justice .. but too complicated for me to try!
1/6/05 11:37 AM
PatPrende said...
I really appreciate your comments on this pattern as I have it in my "inventory". Thanks to you, I will approach this pattern with special attention to the sleeves --- if I use it at all. You have saved me much "grief" by sharing your experience! :-)
1/9/05 6:53 PM
jlg said...
Somehow, I missed this review. Your jacket is fabulous. Beautifully done depite all of the trouble.
2/5/05 5:46 PM
layla said...
Would never guess you had a problem with this pattern.... you certainly managed to make it work...looks beautiful !!
2/5/05 9:42 PM
valerie sews said...
What a wonderfully tailored jacket, and an excellent & informative review. It does seem to me that Vogue do not give as much effort to fine tuning their patterns & instructions as they used to, which is a shame. Nevertheless I love the lines of this jacket and it is going on my wish list.
2/6/05 0:15 AM
sewsue said...
Your jacket looks fantastic, and thanks for a detailed and informative review.
2/6/05 3:04 AM
carnelian said...
...and the lining was pure jazz!
2/6/05 5:54 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Despite your troubles with it, that is an absolutely magnificent jacket, with every detail perfect. It looks completely professional. Thank you also for a thorough & helpful review.
2/14/05 12:02 PM
moushka said...
Beautiful, beautiful tailoring. I doubt you'd find a better looking jacket anywhere in Canada! Thanks for your thoughtful review. I don't know what's happening at Vogue since they were bought by McCall's but it ain't pretty. I emailed them six months ago about my disappointments with the newer Vogue patterns; they didn't bother to reply to me, either.
2/17/05 7:15 AM
sewrose said...
Very informative review. Thanks so much! Don't you wonder what Vogue is thinking when they put out products like this? I do.
10/27/06 11:24 PM
lorrwill said...
oh my gosh what an excellent review. I am no advanced seamstress so I would not have known what was wrong had I attempted this pattern. Thanks very much for the details.
3/15/10 0:56 AM
dorothyn said...
I'm thinking of making this one after all these years (made two of the tops years ago). Despite your troubles with the sleeves, it looks absolutely fantastic in the photo. Do you still wear it?
3/20/10 6:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

More Knits
More Knits

Register

McCall's 6361

photo
by: jewelea

Review
McCall's 2432

photo
by: trumbelina

Review
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Buy Now
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now