Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8368 (Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2012 Contest    printable version
Viewed 321 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 181 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/9/12 11:42 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Riesie said...
Well, you're much too vivacious for that fabric, anyway.
7/10/12 0:05 AM
aunt saidee said...
Well, I can only attribute it to a difference in taste. I like this and I like it on you, including the fabric. I think it makes a cool jacket and the curvy neckline is nice, too. Don't shoot the messenger!
7/10/12 0:16 AM
brissie71 said...
While I agree it's not your normal style, I don't think it looks that bad. Your review is quite helpful, though, in the level of detail you've provided. Thanks again, Sherril, for continuing to write such thorough and honest reviews.
7/10/12 0:32 AM
Lynngray said...
Love it!
7/10/12 0:33 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Sherril, it's not bad but you make me smile with the strength of your conviction. I also often find Burda very boxy in its shaping. They draft for quite the shoulder line!
7/10/12 6:44 AM
mssewcrazy said...
It looks cute in the photo to me also but we can't judge the fabric and fit like you can up close. Some larger person at the Goodwill is going to be very happy to get this so kudos for finishing and donating it as it will make someone else's day to find that.
7/10/12 7:33 AM
sewnaomi said...
I really like it. I like the fabric too. It looks like something I would wear to work. Thanks for the tips.
7/10/12 9:47 AM
carolynw said...
Well Sherrill I hve to say that while I like the top it is just not you - it just the patterned fabric looks a little old for you - agree it should be donated - great review and also quite amusing
7/10/12 12:08 PM
TJSEWS said...
I agree with the other posters that the print is just not you. However, it fits you beautifully!
7/10/12 3:30 PM
NancyAnn2 said...
The fit is beautiful, the print is fashionable, the colours are lovely. Doesn't your son have something to mow in the garden?
7/11/12 2:45 AM
jannw said...
I think it looks great!! I like the changes you made and I love roses! That said, my copy of this pattern went to the thrift last year.....
7/11/12 11:44 AM
maria 6705 said...
Making it into a jacket was a great idea. I think it looks fine on you, but if you're not happy with it, you'll never be comfortable wearing it. Some Goodwill customer is going to fall in love with it and feel beautiful wearing it.
7/13/12 1:29 PM
khurtdvm said...
You're right - the photo doesn't look bad, but if you don't like it in real life, then that's great that you are donating it.
7/14/12 10:51 PM
Cheryl25 said...
I think it looks great...I really like it and it looks nice on you!
7/17/12 8:46 PM
TanyaMT said...
It's a nice wadder. Someone will pull it out at Goodwill and exclaim how wonderful it is. :)
7/19/12 0:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Simplicity 2638 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by strasfamil... on 7/9/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The Whimsy Bag
The Whimsy Bag

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fehr Trade 000
photo
Review by ArtAttack on 3/18/13
Read Review

Simplicity 5276 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 5276 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9675 Pattern
Burda 9675 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us