Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6598 (Misses Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 548 times 36 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/12 7:24 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dilliander said...
Great fix, lovely result :)
7/10/12 7:52 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
You are cracking me up with your King Kong armholes! So glad you fixed that, cause your top turned out really cute. I think I have this pattern somewhere but have not sewn it. I now know what to look for while sewing it!!
7/10/12 8:00 PM
SewWil said...
Great job fixing the "King Kong" armholes. Cute summer top. Thanks for the link for the cropped pants.
7/10/12 9:15 PM
cleverkitty said...
I had to go look in my closet to see if I made the sleeveless version on this pattern, I guess not, I will stay away from that view. You totally reveal my getaway at the computer with your humor that makes me LOL, "two people could have held a conversation, while maintaining eye contact, looking from one side of me to the other through these openings" The way I see it Your top is pretty cute, but your wit won me over on this review. White pants on you? what gives....
7/10/12 9:15 PM
sfshaza said...
What a cute summer outfit. The fixed-up armholes look great. Thanks for that link to the threads article on cropped pants.
7/10/12 10:59 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
great fit and it looks fab on you
7/10/12 11:40 PM
JenniferMM said...
Well done fixing the armhole issue. It looks great!
7/11/12 3:03 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
I really like your top--the v-neck shape is very graceful and the color is great.
7/11/12 6:41 AM
Christas said...
Ha! SO glad you fixed those "King Kong" armholes! You are a hoot. Love your new top. It looks so nice on you!
7/11/12 9:45 AM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, Barb...no hayseed going on here, girlfriend. This is cute! I wondered about this pattern since it looked so sleek and easy...thanks for the review!
7/11/12 11:33 AM
CCQ said...
Very comfortable summer-time look. Good choice as always :)
7/12/12 9:22 AM
RLL said...
Looks so nice on you, great shape/fit and the color is wonderful. The flare out at the front hem...I seem to recall reading once with jacket fitting that it meant it was too short at CF in chest area....to add length in CF above bust (cut and spread pattern) tappering to nothing at side then true up the CF line , grainline and any darts. Don't know if this works for tops in general or just jackets.....but might be worth a try.
7/12/12 2:03 PM
CorgieMom said...
Cute outfit! Like the silhouette in the back photo - shapes nicely. Looks like you nailed the fix on the armholes. Winner!
7/17/12 1:29 PM
Margaret said...
Great-looking top, glad the armholes could be fixed. New Looks often seem big in my experience too, especially in the shoulder and neckline area. RLL's suggestion about the flare out seems good to me -- I would guess the front might be too short relative to the back for it to be able to hang down vertically at the hem?
7/24/12 4:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 3672
photo
Review by Katharine ... on 1/7/10
Read Review

Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at CopyShop)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at CopyShop)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5581
photo
Review by Tiki Val on 8/24/10
Read Review

J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6026 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 6026 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4967 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 4967 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us