Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6559 (Misses' Unlined Jackets and Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 934 times 82 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2012
Posted on:7/11/12 0:29 AM
Last Updated:7/13/12 6:53 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $14.36 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $14.36  List Price: $17.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
42 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewWil said...
Wow! Your dress is gorgeous. You are right that fabric wanted to be a maxi dress.
7/11/12 0:37 AM
Annette1 said...
I only wish I'd had the foresight to think of a MAXI DRESS -- ha! You are truly STUNNING in this dress, Christa. You look like you just stepped out of a high-end boutique -- like Minnie Pearl, with the tag still hanging on your dress -- ha! I love EVERY MAXI INCH OF IT!
7/11/12 0:55 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Great fabric choice for this dress - love the accessories too!
7/11/12 1:46 AM
olgarosita said...
The dress fits you perfectly and the fabric is absolutely gorgeous, just perfect for this project!
7/11/12 3:13 AM
geebo said...
Beautiful. Great job. How did you bind the neck? I've never done it that way. Thx
7/11/12 5:03 AM
MNBarb said...
A great dress on you. The cut of neckline and back are so sporty and flattering. It's great to look dressed up in a garment that is as comfortable as pajamas. Nice work!
7/11/12 7:25 AM
Elke said...
Both dresses look fabulous on you! Great job and fabrics!
7/11/12 7:43 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
That looks so fabulous on you! I muslined the dress yesterday and I'm not sure if it looks very good on my figure because I have fuller thighs which the fabric seems to cling too. It totally bums me out since everyone is making darling dresses from this pattern. Love the fabric - Annette sends you such awesome pieces!
7/11/12 9:47 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
You look fabulous and au courant in your maxi!
7/11/12 9:48 AM
Christas said...
Thanks so much for all the nice comments! Geebo, I have added a tutorial to my review for the binding method I used.
7/11/12 10:05 AM
ggf2005 said...
lovely dress
7/11/12 10:10 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
So lovely on you! You could wear this stunning dress for just about any occasion, too. Nicely accessorized.
7/11/12 10:19 AM
ArtAttack said...
What great fabric and it looks super on you!
7/11/12 11:27 AM
zazzie said...
Oh I love it! Great use of fabric.
7/11/12 11:42 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fabulous dress and fabric - and your shoes!!! PERFECT! :)
7/11/12 11:53 AM
cleverkitty said...
Super nice fabric and the fit is perfect, you look like a million bucks in this dress :)
7/11/12 12:37 PM
sing201 said...
Beautiful dress and thanks for the binding tutorial.
7/11/12 3:33 PM
Barbara V said...
Well, what a beautiful summer dress! The fabric from DF Annette is so perfect for this style which looks super on you and your fitting and finishing details are lovely. Hope you wear and enjoy it much this summer!
7/11/12 3:56 PM
Deepika said...
Wow that fabric is perfect for that dress. And of course it fits you like a dream. So pretty. Do I need another maxi pattern. YESSS!
7/11/12 4:11 PM
Catbird said...
It's perfection, Christa!
7/11/12 7:15 PM
JenniferMM said...
A perfect use of that fabric. Very pretty!
7/11/12 7:39 PM
Karendee said...
Christa, you are truly amazing looking in your new dress , shoes and jewelry. Gorgeous fabric , outfit, and woman!!!
7/11/12 8:55 PM
AndreaSews said...
Beautiful fabric, perfect for that pattern. Really looks great on you.
7/11/12 9:11 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very chic. The fabric is just right for that pattern, and the fit is perfect.
7/11/12 9:37 PM
Heatherrique said...
Terrific looking dress on you! You really can wear a maxi dress with elegance and style.
7/11/12 10:53 PM
mesewlot said...
So beautiful! You wear it well.
7/12/12 0:07 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gosh you waste no time, love version 2 too!
7/12/12 0:19 AM
Jrhee said...
Very cute in the stripes too! I might just have to pick up this pattern.
7/12/12 1:24 AM
geebo said...
Thx for the explanation. This dress is great too.
7/12/12 3:49 AM
1SewSweet said...
I agree with everyone here, this (these) are beautiful dresses on you!!! I can't wait to complete mine!!! This pattern has got to make "2012 Pattern of the Year"! It has been made by so many people and multiple times too!
7/12/12 5:30 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
You look smashing in your dress! Thanks for the neck binding tutorial as well!
7/12/12 7:19 AM
Saint Nolt Sews said...
Gorgeous!!!! Love it!
7/12/12 8:42 AM
callmeRuth said...
Beautiful dresses, and you look fabulous in both versions.
7/12/12 12:36 PM
carolynw said...
Va Va Voom as they said back in the day! You look stunning in these dresses - love both but fell head over heels for the bright pattterned one since that's all my colours. I am going to make a maxi but not this pattern - I would need to somehow get a lovely figure such as yours - me I think would look real far from lovely!! so oing for one with a more flowing skirt
7/12/12 3:09 PM
CraftAddict said...
Both versions look great!
7/12/12 4:10 PM
zoe said...
Great dress! Looks wonderful on you.
7/12/12 6:28 PM
KarlaB said...
Beatuiful maxis! No wonder you are sewing another one already!
7/13/12 9:26 AM
chenille said...
You look great in that dress and just love your coverstitch trim.
7/13/12 8:18 PM
Renata said...
You look totally fabulous in this dress and I really like the back view too. What a lovely friend you have in Annette.
7/13/12 11:55 PM
mrsnodders said...
It looks so great! I made this dress also, but I should have just made the 2 piece version because I see so many versions, like yours, that look came out so well! Mine ended up a mini and not a maxi because I messed up on cutting all of the different pieces on one of the other views!
7/14/12 10:11 AM
BlossomKyle said...
hawt hawt hawt!!!
7/22/12 9:51 PM
Angien said...
Amazing dress in every way- color and fabric choice with your coloring, fits you like a glove, love how you used one stripe of pattern for the binding (looks so professional) and your accessorizing is lovely as well! You made a home run on this one!
7/24/12 1:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Butterick 5215
photo
Review by lnwmelon on 8/11/10
Read Review

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3786 Misses Tops
photo
Review by cairncrew on 2/25/11
Read Review

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6578 Pattern
New Look 6578 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6920 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6920 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us