SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5209 

41 more reviews
Viewed 376 times 
Reviewed by:Nan Kay
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nan Kaystar
MO United States
Member since: 5/27/09
Reviews: 71 (patterns: 68)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 16 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/12 2:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michele Lommasson said... (3/13/13 9:28 AM) Reply
Thanks for the thorough review. I don't believe I will even consider this dress without a muslin after you experience. I think yours is quite pretty; the fabric looks wonderful even if it gave you fits. Maybe you'll be able to wear it this summer without too many bad feelings.
Nan Kay said... (7/15/12 2:54 PM) Reply
Thank you for the kind words!! This will never be a favorite dress. It continues to stretch when it is being worn, but the belt keeps it from showing too much! I do like the colors and as I said there is nothing wrong with this pattern. I should have altered it to fit and used different fabric!
strongnow said... (7/15/12 10:21 AM) Reply
While not denying your problems, the end result looks lovely. I would not have looked at this pattern if I had not been drawn to your picture. So thanks for posting.
pdiddly said... (7/15/12 4:19 AM) Reply
I agree with the others it has turned out lovely
zoe said... (7/14/12 4:53 PM) Reply
The dress looks beautiful on you! So much trouble with the zipper though! Poor you; I just hate when that sort of thing happens. I remember once struggling with a zipper in a similar way: I do believe I even bled on the fabric ( pins and fristrations); which, of course, resulted in blood drops that stained the fabric; just worse and worse. Yours looks good though!
prttynpnk said... (7/14/12 4:44 PM) Reply
It really is pretty on you- I did mine in an upholstery-esque jacquard and it does get a little linebacker-y in the shoulders when I sit! Your fabric choice gives it a lovely Dorothy Lamour look.
Christas said... (7/14/12 2:58 PM) Reply
Despite all your troubles, the dress is very pretty and looks very nice on you!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Simplicity 2556

photo
by: WinterQuee...

Review
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Pattern Details
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Pattern Details