SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6347 (Misses Dress in two lengths)

3 more reviews
Viewed 237 times 
Reviewed by:Passion4Sewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Passion4Sewingstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/21/08
Reviews written: 223
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 189
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/12 7:08 PM
Last Updated:2/24/14 8:14 AM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:McCall's 6347
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:

MISSES' DRESS IN TWO LENGTHS: A: Close-fitting through bustline. B: Very loose-fitting, self-lined yoke.

Pattern Sizing:

Multi sized. I used the XL

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Mostly

Were the instructions easy to follow?

It was difficult to follow how to make the band at the bottom, which was the entire reason I liked the pattern
The bottom edge folds back on itself to create the cute fullness over the bottom band. I had to read through the directions a few times before I finally understood, but I think the result was nice.

Bottom ruffle

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I loved how it turned out. When I was in Cincinnati with my dd, getting some things before going to the wedding I had made it to wear to, a lot of people I didn't even know complemented me on it.

Fabric Used:

This was a poly knit wit wonderful body to it. It was covered with silver sparkle.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I wanted it longer than the envelope showed, so I added 4". Rather than add at the bottom (because I would have to alter the band an lower ruffle), I cut it above the band and blended the cut lines.

added 4"

added 4"

The top turned out very low in the front and under arms. I decided to use a pretty cami

I had already decided I wanted a shrug with the dress. That also helped cover the low cut arm holes.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Definitely and yes. If you are just learning to sew, the lower band might be frustrating, but with patience, it will work out.

Conclusion:

I loved how beautiful I felt in it. My niece's best friend was getting married and I went there with my dd. I got there a day early to alter bride's dress and one attendant's dress. It was a hot, hot outdoor wedding, but I felt cool in my dress
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
prttynpnk said...
What a fun pattern! Where did you get your fabric?
7/15/12 8:41 PM
sewtime said...
Love your outfit, very elegant!
7/15/12 8:56 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
prttynpnk, I got it from Hancock's.
7/15/12 9:01 PM
sewtime said...
You look beautiful in in it! Fabulous fabric too!
2/24/14 12:15 PM
carolynw said...
Love this - you look great in it. Pretty fabric
2/24/14 7:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Simplicity 5540

photo
by: HOWsMom

Review
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now