SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2012-109 (Chanel style jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 407 times 
Reviewed by:twinkle72
photo

 
 
About twinkle72star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/20/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/12 5:11 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
eileen said...
thank you for the information. Actually your description really clears it up - Burda has this trim periodically and I always want to try it but get afraid of certain failure. Thanks for taking the time.
7/25/12 5:13 PM
Oh2Sew2 said...
Interesting how so many of us are drawn to the Chanel style jacket...even those of us who don't think it to even be our style! Wonderful job on a very versatile jacket, I do imagine you will get a lot of use from it.
7/19/12 9:16 PM
twinkle72 said...
Eileen, I am not a paying member, so I can't send you a pm. Anyway, the fringed trim was very easy to make. I followed Burda's instructions were actually straight forward. Basically, you sew a couple of zigzag seems down the middle of a strip of your fashion fabric and then pull out the warp threads on the edges. This trim is made from two of these fringed strips, one stacked on top of the other to beef it up a bit.
7/19/12 1:31 PM
eileen said...
beautiful jacket - can I ask what you did for the trim? is it purchased trim or did you fringe the fabric. If the latter, was it difficult? That's the only thing that has been holding me back from doing this jacket.
7/19/12 1:01 PM
miausiau said...
Lovely! I have made 3 in the quilted style and it is not as labor intensive as it may seem, however its not a quick project either! No one but you knows about the lining anyway...besides like you said, many Chanels are lined in the usual fashion.
7/18/12 3:21 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Wow, that is a really pretty jacket! I believe I need this pattern.
7/18/12 1:52 PM
karen n said...
Really appreciate your comments on real Chanel jackets not requiring all of that intensive hand sewing and whatnot. Frees me up to try one like your lovely version!
7/18/12 12:58 PM
MNBarb said...
Just beautiful!
7/18/12 12:32 PM
Renren said...
I love this take on a Chanel jacket. Beautiful jacket. Thanks for the link on jacket making--perfect for upcoming contest. Everytime I go to Pattern Scissors Cloth, I leave quite impressed by the information and presentation.
7/18/12 10:57 AM
Jrhee said...
Gorgeous in pink! Looks great with your skirt, and would also look cute over a tee and jeans.
7/18/12 10:27 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful jacket!
7/18/12 9:54 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
This is beautiful, Karin!
7/18/12 7:10 AM
velosewer said...
This is a very pretty piece.
7/18/12 5:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 1164 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Buy Now