SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8747 (Misses' /Misses' Petite Shirt)

36 more reviews
Viewed 582 times 
Reviewed by:touran
photo

 
 
About touranstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 9/22/03
Reviews written: 109
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 105
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2012
Posted on:7/19/12 6:23 PM
Last Updated:7/19/12 9:04 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Calama said...
It is a shame it did not work out for you, as the blouse looks beautiful and perfect. You obviously did an awesome job with this.
7/19/12 6:49 PM
SavageCoco said...
It's A Cryin' Shame because you did really, really beautiful work.
7/19/12 7:07 PM
frame said...
I think it looks really nice. Too bad you are not happy with it, but that's how it is sometimes. :) You still made a beautiful blouse.
7/19/12 9:08 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Touran, you crack me up! Mad Boobs, mad boobs! I totally understand what you are saying. It will be a nice Goodwill give-away that someone will find perfectly suited for them. I've been avoiding the pattern, even though I have it, because of how high the stand-up collar is. I have no neck, while you my dear have a lovely neck.
7/19/12 9:11 PM
olybinewski said...
I really think this looks super cute on you! I think from your assessment maybe you were expecting different design lines? The 3/4 sleeves definitely look like regular sleeves on you, but don't seem odd. I like the ruching on the boobs... I have this pattern for when I'm a more proficient sewer and I want to make it up with the mandarin collar like you did. Maybe the gingham pattern throws you off? I don't know. Anyhoodle, I just think that If I didn't know you hated it, I would assume you loved it. Because I totally do. This piece shows off your lovely sewing skills, so there's always that!
7/19/12 9:37 PM
wendyrb said...
Hmmmm, maybe you've got mad boobs because their not so accommodating gathers are squoooshed in too small a space? You probably won't be eager to spread the shirring out a bit more. I'm guessing moving up the placket 1" above the bust & 1" below would give breathing room. And, it may work better for the hand of your fabric. This mIght be in the zone for fit and lead to happy boobs!
7/20/12 7:39 AM
arianamaniacs said...
What? I love this blouse on you! I don't see a squinchy face, I see lovely accented boobs and 3/4 lengths arms on a blouse. Both look great.
7/20/12 9:26 AM
Timmithea said...
That's cute!
7/20/12 10:53 AM
touran said...
Thank you for the kind comments and feedback!! It's a really nice blouse, it's just not my favorite. It'll probably grow on me. (love you PR'ers!)
7/21/12 3:55 PM
Izzie said...
Too bad it didn't work for you since your sewing looks so crisp and precise...love the contrasting bias. Have to say I love your mini TARDIS, both my kindle and ipod are TARDIS's (TARDI?) lol
7/29/12 8:52 AM
SueT said...
Thanks for your review, I was considering the pattern and would likely have the same issue with the D-cup gathers and so you saved me the effort. I'll just make a different shirt with no gathering at front.
1/2/13 11:08 AM
nali said...
I think this blouse looks reall lovely on you. I don't find your self-criticism valid, so do reconsider!
7/2/13 11:46 AM
SJ Kurtz said...
The more I look at your photo, the charming model, the excellent cutting and sewing, the more I think this is a self-defeating design. The collar is going to come down as the bias does what it wants to do, which is fold and relax. Thanks for taking one for the team here. In your honor, I am going to use the word 'squinch' as often as possible.
9/17/13 1:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

McCall's 6519

photo
by: Sew Red Ro...

Review
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Buy Now
New Look 6120

photo
by: caper81

Review