SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5890 

29 more reviews
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2012 Contest
Viewed 638 times 
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 185 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/22/12 2:22 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BillieJean said...
When I first saw your picture I thought "How pretty!" I can't believe you don't like it, but sometimes that's how it is. Let it hang around for a while and try again. It especially looks pretty with what you're wearing it with.
7/22/12 6:10 AM
Mobycat said...
I agree 100% with BillieJean.
7/22/12 8:48 AM
JTink said...
This is lovely! It really doesn't accent the "girls" like you think it does. I've had this pattern for a long time and never used it. But after seeing your pretty cardi, I just might have to put it at the top of my "to do" pile :-)
7/22/12 8:57 AM
RadarRadiance said...
The first thing I noticed is I liked it, love the color and the drape of your fabric. I would also let it sit and try it out again maybe with black pants and an ivory tank or something (color block style), I think it would really pop. I like it.
7/22/12 9:54 AM
mastdenman said...
I like it too. Maybe it needs a little time in the magic closet.
7/22/12 10:43 AM
blondieinparis said...
I think you look fabulous in this - the color, the style, the draping. I'm planning to make this too, and I sure hope mine looks as good as yours!
7/22/12 2:32 PM
JEF said...
Oh dear Sherril, I'm another one who saw the picture and thought - wow that is so pretty. I even thought to myself "McCalls? Am I going to have to buy a McCalls pattern?" If the arms are too tight, you're right, pitch it b/c you'll never wear it. BUT...for the style? It's a winner!
7/22/12 8:21 PM
Riesie said...
I agree with the others that you should let it marinate before pitching, though even if you change your mind about the style, the sleeves might be a deal killer. But the color is fabu, dahling! More things in that color!
7/23/12 2:16 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Well, I was going to say I agree with you. I too made this jacket and it just seemed off to me and tried this and that to make it work. but then I clicked on your picture and like yours way more and think it looks really nice on you. I was going to suggest to take the sleeves off and use it as a vest and wear it more open ...just something you could do if you really can't live with it as a cardi.
7/23/12 3:33 PM
OP Gal said...
I think your cardi is very becoming. I love the color of the fabric. Put it away for a week and see if you don't like it better when you take it out again.
7/23/12 11:00 PM
carolynw said...
Sherril I join the many who say this looks lovely BUT if you are not comfortable with it because it doesn't hang right then nothing will save it - I know many times I have made a top that really looks quite nice but because I can see a bit of my tummy it has been ditched - we all have body bits and parts we just do not like to emphasise in any way. Beautiful fabric so try and re-use
7/24/12 11:06 AM
Courtney Ostaff said...
I think that's awesome! So pretty, and I think it looks good on you.
7/24/12 9:52 PM
brissie71 said...
I really wish I'd seen your review before I made up this pattern. I get most of the way through this one for the Pattern Stash contest, then had to push through finishing it. I hate it, too. I'm ticked that I wasted good fabric on it. For me, it's not the fit so much as the way the wrong side of the fabric is exposed and the shoddy way the edges are meant to be finished. There are a thousand other cardigan patterns out there that are worth the time, IMO.
8/1/12 5:19 PM
Baja Susana said...
Sherrill the color is gorgeous on you, but the pattern does you no justice. I know how frustrating it is to spend time and money on a sadder. But overall you do a nice job.
8/18/13 10:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 5927

photo
by: Sewlful

Review
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now