SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 9771 (Misses Blouse)

27 more reviews
Viewed 1118 times 
Reviewed by:GoodbyeValntino
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About GoodbyeValntinostarstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/18/11
Reviews written: 112
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 135 people
patterns reviewed: 108
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/12 8:55 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CypGrl said...
Appreciate your candor and comment about seeing a finished garment.
7/30/12 9:22 AM
ArtAttack said...
Beautiful top but, as you say, nothing like the rendering on the pattern. Thanks for the heads up...was thinking of this one when they go on sale.
7/30/12 10:05 AM
Peggyscloset said...
This is a very pretty top, but I agree that the draped neck is significantly different from the pattern drawing.
7/30/12 10:28 AM
zoe said...
I think this looks beautiful (even though the drape is somewhat different than the pattern drawing); not 'boring' or 'too sensible' at all as you say. It looks classic, with simple, clean lines; and I love the dot silk fabric. But then everything you've shown us always looks so good on you. I'm picturing it with a skirt and low gold sandals.
7/30/12 10:54 AM
CissieW said...
I had the same thought when I made this top. The drape in the illustration and the actual drape were quite different. I agree -- always buy patterns that actually show the garment on a person!
7/30/12 11:46 AM
frame said...
Different types of fabric will drape differently. Yours looks much more like the line drawing and in my opinion better than the fashion rendering.
7/30/12 12:19 PM
Elona said...
The top is beautiful and looks beautiful on you. As to its lack of resemblance to the illustration on the pattern envelope, I've just been through the 20 (!) other reviews here at pr, and some of the tops look *exactly* like that drawing and others do not. I'd be willing to bet that the primary factor in the outcome is the drapiness of the fabric chosen. But that's true of any garment, bias or straight grain. On the whole, this appears to be an unusually fine and well-liked pattern, in spite of Vogue's decision to use a drawing on the envelope instead of a photo.
7/30/12 1:41 PM
velosewer said...
Butterick 4132 might be more suitable for you. Your version is lovely. The Butterick version has a lower neckline without being showy.
7/30/12 5:07 PM
SewWil said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern I was wondering about that drate on the pattern. Your top is pretty and looks very nice on you.
7/30/12 6:48 PM
SavageCoco said...
Oh, this is really pretty on you. Beautiful fit. Camel and white is so chic in the summer. Yeah, the draped neck is different from the pattern drawing. But everything you make is so gorgeous. Enjoy it!
7/31/12 0:02 AM
DRoos said...
Agree ! lovely top but not really like the illustration. Is it me or is this becoming a common problem with the Big 4. I've had a few similar disappointments in recent times.
7/31/12 4:30 AM
VivianZ said...
I very much like this top. I am sorry you were disappointed by the neckline, but it is a lovely top. Seeing the drape on this is good. I find most of them way too low, which doesn't show on 6' tall models.
7/31/12 9:56 AM
AndreaSews said...
I agree that all the sewn versions I have seen here on PR have a much different neckline than the illustration on the pattern. Disappointing, but a good lesson to check reviews! Thanks for your honest review, Sarah.
10/5/13 1:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Buy Now