Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
LaFred: 111 (Olympia Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1699 times 100 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 6:56 AM
Last Updated:1/6/05 8:14 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mClones said...
Fabulous, cozy looking coat. On a rainy/sleety day like it is here in NY today, I would love to snuggle up in that. Your review piqued my interest in LaFred patterns, which I have never tried so far. Thanks for all the construction details too.
1/6/05 8:35 AM
noreend said...
Your coat looks fabulous!
1/6/05 9:05 AM
Leslie Pettie said...
Wow, what a great coat. Thank you for the blow-by-blow, it was very informative. I do like her designs; so even though I am a beginner I want to order this pattern (Slapping hand vigorously!!!).
1/6/05 9:18 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for this very informative review! The coat is a very classic style & would be wonderful during our NW winters here in Oregon! I took a class with her once & really learned alot about tailoring techniques. She's a wonderful combination of designer & sewist. I'll have to take a look at that pattern. Thanks again!
1/6/05 10:05 AM
Liana said...
It looks really good, and sounds like a nice pattern. Good review too!
1/6/05 10:24 AM
PegL said...
Absolutely gorgeous coat! You did an awesome job! Very informative review too! Thanks!
1/6/05 11:42 AM
jlg said...
Great looking coat and very helpful review.
1/6/05 11:52 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Great looking coat and wonderful review. Thank you :-)
1/6/05 12:38 PM
AnneM said...
Great review. Your coat looks so much better than the pattern sketch. I just wish it has a hood.
1/6/05 4:36 PM
Oziroo said...
Thanks for such an informative and encouraging review. Your coat looks super.
1/6/05 4:53 PM
drsue said...
Very nice! I've always wanted to try underarm gussets but haven't yet gotten around to trying.
1/6/05 9:38 PM
Lori V said...
Great review and beautiful coat.
1/6/05 10:46 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Very nice job on both the coat and the review! Where did you find the flannel-backed satin?
1/7/05 9:27 AM
xela said...
The coat look fabulous on you. Excellent review wonderful job. Thanks
1/7/05 9:40 AM
MickeyFan said...
Thank you everyone for the nice feedback. Lisa, I found the flannel back satin at fabric.com. It was not exactly the really thick weight I had in mind, but it is nice fabric. I thought it worked well in this project.
1/7/05 1:39 PM
Deb Bee said...
Your coat is beautiful!! Loved your detailed review of the pattern. I would love to try a nice wool coat for myself someday - this is inspiring!
1/7/05 2:37 PM
PixieCat said...
Love your coat! Such a beautiful job!
1/7/05 4:31 PM
Ginevra said...
I am from Wisconsin and am not scoffing at your assessment of wet,rainy, cold weather. Your coat seems to fit the bill perfectly. I love the design and your review was perfectly detailed!
1/7/05 7:37 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow, looks great. Great review.
1/9/05 2:45 PM
bakertoo said...
Thank you for the info. I am just starting this pattern, and I am, amazingly enough(!) using the same type of fabrics, for both the shell, and lining. I have never sewn with either one, so it was really helpful to read your clues. I'm nervous, but not as scared now! Thanks again.
12/26/08 9:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 3686
photo
Review by cleverkitt... on 2/8/11
Read Review

Simplicity 3943 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 3943 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1433 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 1433 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Nancy Zieman Santa Fe Dress and Top
photo
Review by donnagirl on 8/18/13
Read Review

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The Essential Tote
The Essential Tote

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us