Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2239 (Vintage 1950 evening dress) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 2658 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:beastella
photo
About beastellastar
FRANCE, METROPOLITAN
Member since: 1/6/05
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/6/05 12:04 PM
Last Updated:12/14/09 12:54 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Doris Stewart said...
Beautiful dress.
1/6/05 12:21 PM
Modiste Madness said...
So beautiful!
1/6/05 12:32 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Lovely dress, and I particularly like the little girl playing in the background! -Ann
1/6/05 1:18 PM
carolineG said...
love to see this, but the photo link is not working...
1/6/05 2:13 PM
Annika said...
Another stunning dress! Wow! So beautiful! Keep up the good work!
1/6/05 2:22 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I can't see the link either :(
1/6/05 5:17 PM
els said...
Beautiful and very elegant .
1/6/05 5:52 PM
Eli said...
I cannot see the link...
1/6/05 6:05 PM
appleC said...
Try right-click the project photo, and select 'Open Link in New Window'.... if you still can't access the pic :)
1/6/05 6:43 PM
Levone said...
Very beautiful!
1/6/05 7:02 PM
flowermama said...
I wish I could see it!
1/6/05 8:59 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
I keep getting the "Forbidden" page
1/6/05 9:41 PM
Amelie said...
Bienvenue! I keep getting the "forbidden" page as well. (tried Ping's suggestion too) :(
1/7/05 3:31 AM
bonny said...
I couldn't see the picture at first, then I tried someone else's suggestion of copying the link location and pasting it into a new window. A beautiful dress. Love the fabric!
1/7/05 5:45 AM
CarolynGM said...
Lovely formal evening dress. What a classic style.
1/7/05 6:47 AM
SewingSusan said...
darnit ...i'd really love to see this :(. I keep getting the access forbidden message as well.
1/7/05 6:58 AM
AnneM said...
The copy & paste route let me see the picture also. Lovely! I love your comment "easy for me, not for beginners". It's nice when you advanced sew-ers can keep that type of perspective, since much seems easy for you that once wasn't.
1/7/05 7:14 AM
SandraB said...
I tried Bonny's suggestion and got to see the picture. Wow!! Your gown is so lovely.
1/7/05 8:31 AM
licarritc said...
First reaction was OH WOW!!!! Gorgeous Dress and you look wonderful in it!
1/7/05 8:57 AM
flowermama said...
beautiful, wow! Thanks bonny for the info to see the pic.
1/7/05 10:30 AM
PeggyA said...
Your review is very helpful, but I am not able to view your photo - message says "forbidden." I would love to see the picture of your dress.
1/7/05 11:18 AM
JDpenelope said...
Gorgeous dress. Sorry others are having problems seeing it.
1/7/05 1:53 PM
Kathryn said...
What a beautiful gown...very elegant. How you find the time to sew with 5 children amazes me! Thank you so much for sharing your sewing experience with us.
1/8/05 1:13 AM
Georgene said...
Thank you for posting the review of this dress. It does look wonderful in the solid gold color, not at all like the pattern drawing. I would love to see the close up detail of the bodice with the embroidery. Where do you shop for your fabric?
1/8/05 1:38 AM
Em's Summer said...
Tres belle! Wish I could see a pic of the pattern itself, but it's not showing up.
6/10/07 1:32 PM
Kay Y said...
Both the dress and the model are very beautiful!
6/10/07 3:25 PM
sewbehind said...
That is just beautiful. Very glamourous.
6/10/07 4:15 PM
janella said...
tres bien!! Very beautiful! I've always seen that pattern and wondered what it looked like. Do put up a picture of the rose silk dress! I'd love to see it!
6/10/07 5:27 PM
Annika said...
Exquisite.
6/11/07 9:49 AM
Luckylibbet said...
tres elegante... votre fille est tres belle.
6/11/07 12:55 PM
okie2thdoc said...
It looks beautiful- just to reiterate what has been said many times! WOW!
1/27/09 12:30 PM
Catbird said...
Completely enchanting. The colors of the dress and the elegant wrap play off each other so well, the jewelry adds the perfect touch and the pose is lovely. Exquisite!
1/28/09 12:54 PM
no7262 said...
Wow! That is just gorgeous! Do you have a picture of the rose one? Would love to see it. Nora :)
12/14/09 8:16 AM
carolynw said...
Gorgeous!!
12/14/09 9:12 AM
kkkkaty said...
It's a very pretty dress, but I don't understand why you rated it "easy and great for beginners, while the text says it was easy for you, but not for anyone else? It would be nice to also see a pic of the pattern.
12/14/09 10:07 AM
Elona said...
Beautiful dress! I also could not get the pattern photo no matter what I tried. Fortunately, it has been reviewed here before. Here is a working link: http://www.voguepatterns.com/item/V2239.htm?search=2239&page=1
12/14/09 11:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Burda 7798
photo
Review by Mufffet on 8/23/08
Read Review

Simplicity 1613 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1613 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8806 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8806 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4017 OOP
photo
Review by carolynw on 3/15/09
Read Review

Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern
Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us