SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1138 (Metropolitan Verano Dress/Top)

Viewed 463 times 
Reviewed by:Speech girl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Speech girlstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 5/11/03
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/3/12 3:50 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JudyMac said...
thanks for your detailed review. I think the dress would look cute with strappy black sandals (it looks as tho there is black in the print)
8/3/12 5:20 PM
Calama said...
I like the print! And the final product too. Black would work as shoes, I think.
8/3/12 5:43 PM
michellep74 said...
Cute dress! Black or metallic shoes should work with that print.
8/3/12 6:00 PM
miausiau said...
Hmmm, the bodice does look much longer than in the drawing. I am attracted to the print and the concept, but all that fabric at the waist could overwhelm a petite figure. Thanks for the heads up!
8/3/12 6:11 PM
PattyE said...
Sorry it did not come out the way you wanted...I really like your fabric though.
8/3/12 9:35 PM
Riesie said...
It's a lovely dress. Could you add a waist stay to keep the dress' waist at the right level?
8/4/12 9:47 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
If I wanted to forget that I was wearing blue, I'd go for a pair of red shoes. You could feel good in them, and they'd add a nice contrast color to the outfit. I do wear blue a lot, however, and I really like your print. Just step out proud in it.
8/4/12 12:00 PM
Speech girl said...
maiausaiu: my knit was thin, and the twist didn't create a lot of bulk, the excess ease is what would be overwhelming I think! Q Valley Mary: red shoes I do have as that is one of my favorite colors to wear. I think I forgot to say in my review that there is elastic attached at the waist except in the very front.
8/5/12 3:14 PM
Nancy K said...
I wish I'd read your review before I made mine! I am a DD cup and didn't need to make any adjustments other than to raise the neckline a bit as well. It fell too low on my waist as well and if anything you'd think it would hike up with my larger bust. I do like your print. I didn't think to take in the side seams, but maybe I will and see if I like it better
8/20/12 9:39 AM
DementedFairy said...
I've made this one up as a top and as a dress, and had similar issues. The body is loooong [and I normally find things make up too short in the body], and the sizing is very generous indeed. On the 2nd run I cut out a whole size smaller than I would expect, it's much better. I had trouble with getting the waist seams to match up the first time too, I think the pieces may have stretched in handling...
11/13/12 11:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 9475 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
New Look 6097

photo
by: saranoemi

Review
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Buy Now