Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3098 (Misses' skirts) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1629 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Oziroo
photo
Friend of PR
About Oziroostar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/7/03
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/7/05 7:16 AM
Last Updated:1/7/05 7:21 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $10.99     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Nice looking skirt. I keep meaning to try this pattern. I have no hints for wrinkling fabric beyond underlining which I would think would help some, but who wants to underline a linen? The point is coolness. I'm curious to see what others would say.
1/7/05 8:21 AM
cindyann said...
So glad you reviewed this skirt. I was looking at this pattern yesterday. The drawing does seem to indicate that it is wider at the bottom than the finished skirts is. That's great as that was why I hesitated to get the pattern. Since the pockets do not gape, my thoughts would be that it's just the nature of linen.
1/7/05 9:01 AM
Gigi Louis said...
One of my favorite skirt patterns! Yours turned out great. I think it's probably difficult to avoid the pocket rippling with stretch wovens. You might try making a pocket stay that goes from one side seam to the other, one piece across the tummy. But, again, with a stretch woven you might find that it will pull from the back if you do that. I always omit the pockets since I like to wear my tops out anyway.
1/7/05 9:54 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for the review -- your skirt looks like you achieved a great fit! I think when we work with linen or a linen blend we just have to let linen be linen. So we let the wrinkles happen unless we decide not to do any sitting at all! (LOL) As was pointed out, what's the point of using linen if you then have to underline?!? I am going to try this pattern in denim, one of my favorite fabrics, & just let denim be denim. (8^D)
1/7/05 10:49 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Oziroo, I always look forward to your reviews. You turn out such quality stuff, and this is no exception. The linen blend is perfect for summer, an comfy with a Lycra blend. Good color choice too--light denim blue is so versatile. We must be tuned in now because I just finished my knee-length version this week... but my photo editor is on the blink, so review is pending.
1/7/05 1:20 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
I really like your sharp looking skirt. It is a great color and is very flattering on you. Thanks for the review. Linen is supposed to be wrinkled. Wrinkles are almost always airbrushed out of photos.
1/7/05 6:16 PM
Oziroo said...
Thanks for the helpful comments everyone. Maybe I will try the pocket stay when I do this style of pocket with a non stretch fabric. You make a very good point, Gigi, about omitting the pockets - I am quite certainly going to be wearing tops over the skirt and am not going to put anything in the pockets! I think I wanted to do them mainly out of curiosity.
1/8/05 4:38 AM
Sew it seams said...
Your skirt is so cute. I bought this pattern quite a while ago, but have yet to try it. I'm going to pull it out today. Thanks for the warning on the pockets. I like the detail of the topstitched pockets, so maybe a "faux pocket" with the same detail would work. I ahve many customers who have me stitch their pockets closed on RTW for just the same reason.
2/10/05 11:39 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Self Drafted Pattern 197911-1004
photo
Review by Mimsy Boro... on 9/21/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1301 Robson Coat
photo
Review by Nelliethem... on 3/30/14
Read Review

McCalls 6733 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6733 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1678 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1678 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us