SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Park Bench patterns> 14 (AUDUBON PARK)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1554 times 
Reviewed by:Shona
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Shonastar
BC CANADA
Member since: 11/9/02
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/7/05 4:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunz said...
Shona, I tried ONE park bench pattern and was so frustrated that I gave up on that brand. congrats for sticking with it and persevering. The fabric is stunning, but I agree, it could use some taking in.
1/7/05 6:34 PM
Modiste Madness said...
It looks great so at least you were rewarded for your perseverence and problem solving.
1/7/05 7:04 PM
sahmtodaniel said...
Wow - thanks for your very thorough review. I have eyed these patterns for a while, because of the distinctive look, but reading your review makes me very tentative. I would definately only jump in with my eyes wide open! Good for you, for persevering, to get a wearable shirt/jacket out of it. Nice fabric choice too.
1/7/05 7:05 PM
Georgene said...
All your difficulties add up to a 'why bother?' for me. Every review of this line I have read mentions the difficulties and frustrations. Your stick-to-it attitude deserves several gold stars. Its a shame that the pattern does not measure up to your wonderful vision for your fabric.
1/7/05 8:55 PM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for the Heads Up, in case I were ever to consider this brand. Now I know better.
1/7/05 10:33 PM
BillieJean said...
This review kinda tells me what I need to know about Park Bench patterns.
1/8/05 6:38 AM
Mommo said...
Thank you for your review--I really appreciate knowing "What not to try".
1/8/05 9:49 AM
AnneM said...
Great review. Wonderful fabric, which combined with your hard work makes a nice outfit. I've ruled out this particular pattern line for me based on previous reviews, and this just confirms that. Not right for me!
1/8/05 9:59 AM
JoleneF said...
I have considered this brand after seeing the designer at a Martha Pullen convention, but I just had a gut feeling after hearing her talk about the pattern sizing that I would struggle with them. You and all the others who have reviewed them have reaffirmed that for me. It looks nice and I am glad you were able to finish.
1/8/05 6:14 PM
patsijean said...
As I do not have this pattern, I cannot help you, but I have had great results with Sentinel Peak Park and Woodstock. Here is the link to sizing information. http://www.parkbenchpatterns.com/sizeinfo.php The sizing is based on a size 14, 5'4" woman. One needs to always check flat pattern measurements, laying a simple pattern underneath in order to check. The pattern description says that Audubon Park has a large pleat in back so perhaps you can make the pleat as large as you need to make it. That may be why the pleat seems to small. It may be one of those sizing features she describes. I would prefer the neckline pleat to be a dart. As do you, I have issues with the "one size may fit all" concept. Perhaps the small, medium and large concept would be better so that fitting would be easier. Even a loose fitting garment should fit.
7/22/09 11:39 AM
patsijean said...
One more thing. Wear this top with black pants rather than a matching skirt. Perhaps with the skirt there is too much volume.
7/22/09 12:32 PM
patsijean said...

7/22/09 12:35 PM
patsijean said...

7/22/09 12:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

New Look 6013

photo
by: valerie se...

Review

Pattern

Vogue Patterns 8162

photo
by: iluv2sew61

Review
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Buy Now