SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1247 (Misses' Top and Skirt)

119 more reviews
Viewed 862 times 
Reviewed by:sunnysewer

About sunnysewerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/3/09
Reviews: 113 (patterns: 110)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 72 people
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:8/8/12 9:45 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Other Projects by sunnysewer using this Pattern


Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics

Natural & Organic Fabrics

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
trumbelina said... (8/10/12 5:36 PM) Reply
I've been nervous about using this pattern and have had it in the stash for a while. Now that I know what you did to make it less sack-like, I think I feel comfortable tackling it. Thanks!!
Elke said... (8/10/12 8:04 AM) Reply
Very cute top and skirt! I like your fitting changes...very helpful! Thanks!
AngelynnK said... (8/9/12 4:25 PM) Reply
I like the top, and the way you took out some of the width to make it less bulky. It's pretty!
sewbehind said... (8/9/12 11:25 AM) Reply
Beautiful version of this pattern. I love the changes that you made to it. Makes it more wearable. Looks great on you.
cleverkitty said... (8/9/12 9:35 AM) Reply
this pattern has caused much controversy between it's style and the physique wearing it, I agree with you on all regards to it's appearance, you want it to work because it is a change from the fitted look we like but we don't want to go so far as looking like we could have made two tops from it. All the darts and tucks tease you into thinking it could look semi fitted, if it had none we would have walked away from it. Quirky as it is I like it and do feel it needs personal adjustments. I also thought the same as you about the skirt seams, I did some of the binding on the inside but not all. Your whole look, skirt and top look FANTASTIC . That denim fabric I'm lusting for it but not as much as your flowers :)
Lori V said... (8/9/12 8:30 AM) Reply
Super cute, outfit. I just finished making this top.
a life in stitches said... (8/9/12 7:33 AM) Reply
I think the two pieces make a great outfit. The top I made from this pattern has become my favourite for hot days, hope you come to like yours more. I like your blog review details too - and believe I may have that same day lily in my garden (variety 'Catherine Woodbury' ?)
Elona said... (8/8/12 10:42 PM) Reply
Awww, cute top! Really. When do you ever--and I mean EVER--find a woven tee that looks this terrific?
renren said... (8/8/12 10:09 PM) Reply
As soon as I saw it I said, "That looks like a 1247." It causes everyone to strike a similar pose. I gasped at the beauty of the inside of your skirt on the blog piece. And that top fabric. Wow. I love this. I have the pattern. Perhaps I shall sew it. I know I can sew the skirt but the top looks tricky. Great job.
Amanda.Claire said... (8/8/12 9:53 PM) Reply
Your shirt and skirt turned out really pretty. I struggled with how shapeless this pattern looked on me about a month ago. You really saved it with your changes to the pattern.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Pattern Details
Everyday Baskets Paper Pattern

Everyday Baskets Paper Pattern

Pattern Details