SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5678 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Shirt and Sash)

18 more reviews
Viewed 876 times 
Reviewed by:Jrhee
photo

 
 
About Jrheestarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/7/11
Reviews written: 51
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/9/12 1:06 AM
Last Updated:8/30/12 2:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Very pretty blouse, the stripes look great.
8/9/12 1:54 AM
Sassy T said...
I really like this.
8/9/12 2:47 AM
Dilliander said...
Wow, this looks fabulous Jhree!! The bias stripes at the front are such a great idea and the sleeve placket was perfect.
8/9/12 3:18 AM
Claverie said...
Looks great. I'm curious about your narrow hem method. ... Serge, Trim, Turn, Topstitch....What does the serging do to enhance the narrow hem effort?
8/9/12 7:16 AM
rdlamb said...
Wow, very classy shirt!
8/9/12 8:59 AM
halleyscomet said...
Beautiful blouse!
8/9/12 9:04 AM
cleverkitty said...
Gorgeous Blouse, well done. I agree on the princess seams, I just bought Vogue 6747. Good point on the front placket, I am totally impressed on the sleeve placket. You got me in blouse mode with this great review :) I do that too ....Serging the narrow hem first.... helps stabilize the fabric when doing the folding and keeps the edges neat
8/9/12 9:50 AM
mhoutz said...
Great looking blouse, and I love all of your details! This is one of my favorite patterns, too.
8/9/12 10:15 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love your play with the stripes, it looks very classy/classic at the same time. Great job on the fit too!
8/9/12 10:24 AM
CissieW said...
Those stripes are so fun -- and add a lot of interest to the shirt!
8/9/12 10:57 AM
SewWil said...
What a gorgeous blouse!!! I love it in a stripe. Great job!
8/9/12 11:30 AM
Jrhee said...
Thanks, everyone! Claverie, if you have a serger, give this hem a try. The serged edge folds over perfectly straight, much straighter than a regular stitched foldline. Mhoutz, your review convinced me to buy this pattern!
8/9/12 11:43 AM
zoe said...
Just beautiful! You do gorgeous work. I love the grey stripes. Great detailed review.
8/9/12 12:12 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Your blouse is so cute with the stripes and all of the great details. Thanks for the narrow hem info. I will try this next.
8/9/12 4:08 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, how cute is this! Love the detail with the stripes...great job! I have this blouse hanging in my closet half finished and you've inspired me to finish it! Thanks!
8/9/12 9:58 PM
Margie T said...
What a great looking shirt! Beautiful sewing. Congratulations!
8/10/12 2:12 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very smart, and a fine effort. Well done.
8/10/12 4:24 AM
Maree P said...
This is a lovely shirt....beautifully sewn. A blue/grey and white stripe....such a chic choice.
8/10/12 6:43 AM
Cynthia2 said...
Beautiful work! You've inspired me to play with stripes.
8/10/12 1:10 PM
chenille said...
That looks fab! Love the stripe details and thanks for the tips!
8/10/12 7:00 PM
Dilliander said...
The gauze version is lovely too :) this is quickly becoming a TNT, it looks great on you.
8/30/12 5:29 AM
Jill Giard said...
Great blouse - you have inspired me!
8/30/12 8:45 AM
Levone said...
Great looking blouses! Thanks for including the tip on the rolled hem!
8/30/12 9:23 AM
luckeyone said...
I love the gauze version!
8/30/12 9:47 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Lovely!
2/1/13 12:05 PM
mesewlot said...
Beautiful shirts, and I love your hemming technique!
9/5/13 7:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

McCall's 6544

photo
by: guineveres...

Review

Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now