Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 173224-1000 (Designer Handbags) - Type:Accessories
Review submitted in Challenge Contest 2012 - Handbag Contest    printable version
Viewed 509 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Lynn WA
photo
Friend of PR
About Lynn WAstar
WA USA
Member since: 3/27/09
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/9/12 12:16 PM
Last Updated:8/10/12 4:20 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
That is just marvelous!
8/9/12 12:26 PM
mastdenman said...
Beautiful!
8/9/12 12:36 PM
pdiddly said...
beautiful
8/9/12 1:28 PM
HDWen said...
Beautiful colors, I love how the handles just pop against the bag!
8/9/12 1:31 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Lovely
8/9/12 2:34 PM
BJ1400 said...
That is very cute! How are the straps attached?
8/9/12 3:20 PM
lo_j said...
Lovely! I like the choice of interior fabrics, too.
8/9/12 3:53 PM
Lynn WA said...
The straps are attached rather ingeniously! A placement square is embroidered on the bag, then the strap is added and sewn down in a square with an X through it - several times so it's very strong. Then the fabric covering is placed over the strap and embroidered. Everything is firmly held in place.
8/9/12 5:01 PM
Annie P said...
Great bag!
8/10/12 0:50 AM
Kathy7661 said...
Nicely done, great bag!
8/10/12 10:47 AM
HDWen said...
I went to the link to look for the Kit you bought, but she's not got anymore. What all comes with it? Every time I look in the gallery this is the bag I drool over! :-)
8/10/12 12:41 PM
JEF said...
Gorgeous!
8/10/12 2:40 PM
sewhappygrams said...
Very pretty. I seen this bag/embroidery completed on Sewing with Nancy. Nancy had as a guest Eileen Roche who showed how this bag was machine embroidered and put together. You did a great job.
8/10/12 4:01 PM
Lynn WA said...
HDWen, I updated the link to the handbag software, so check it out! They still have it, just on a different page.
8/10/12 4:27 PM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous!
8/10/12 7:25 PM
marthamyers said...
Such an interesting approach to machine embroidery. I've been watching this on Sewing With Nancy. It's so cool to see your version!
8/10/12 8:34 PM
carolynw said...
This is one BEAUTIFUL bag - I bet you would have to pay one heck of a lot for it in any upscale store- I am totally in love with it.
8/10/12 11:24 PM
Scheri said...
What a beautiful bag.......very stylish
8/11/12 2:23 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Gorgeous boutique looking bag. Just beautiful!
8/11/12 9:49 AM
bijou90 said...
Fabulous bag, excellent embroidery.
8/11/12 11:43 AM
whistlin dixie said...
A very nice bag! I like the combinations of colors, fabrics and embroidery.
8/11/12 11:47 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Amazing bag -- looks very expensive. Did you use anything in the handles or are they just 2 layers of fabric.
8/12/12 7:46 PM
Lynn WA said...
SheBear0320 - I cut the straps 2" wide and used a medium weight iron on interfacing for the entire width. I folded it in 1/2" on each side; then I cut a 1" strip (yellow), interfaced it as well, folded it 1/4" on each side, laid it over the center of the wider strap and seweed along each edge. It was easy to do and the best part was no turning a tube yet all the raw edges are enclosed.
8/13/12 1:15 PM
arianamaniacs said...
I might have to try this out on my embroisery unit, yours turned out lovely!
8/15/12 12:06 PM
Lynn WA said...
Thank you all for the nice comments! This was my first review and it wasn't as intimidating as I thought it would be!
8/16/12 9:44 AM
Patricia from Rose Manor Farm said...
Lynn, This bag is just great! Even better in person but the detail shows nicely in the photo.
8/16/12 11:03 PM
Bonnie O said...
Love it!
8/17/12 9:28 AM
Aroura said...
Really love this bag!!
8/17/12 3:03 PM
Mrs4Him said...
Very nice--awesome job!
8/17/12 5:43 PM
maria 6705 said...
Beautiful bag!
8/17/12 7:13 PM
sewme47 said...
Super job! Looks so professional.
8/20/12 12:48 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job with this in the hoop bag. Color combinations are very attractive.
8/28/12 12:24 PM
Laurie Lou said...
I love everything about this lovely creation of yours!
9/12/12 5:11 PM
Butter Bean said...
Absolutely spectacular! I love it. You've inspired me.
9/12/12 6:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Colette Patterns 1014 Negroni
photo
Review by soupdragon on 1/3/12
Read Review

Burda 7033 Pattern
Burda 7033 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1403 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1403 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2008-126 Top
photo
Review by LauraLo on 10/1/08
Read Review

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Edith Blouse Dress Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Edith Blouse Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus D202 DVD
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us