SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 173224-1000 (Designer Handbags)

Review submitted in Challenge Contest 2012 - Handbag Contest
Viewed 509 times 
Reviewed by:Lynn WA
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lynn WAstar
WA USA
Member since: 3/27/09
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/9/12 12:16 PM
Last Updated:8/10/12 4:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
That is just marvelous!
8/9/12 12:26 PM
mastdenman said...
Beautiful!
8/9/12 12:36 PM
pdiddly said...
beautiful
8/9/12 1:28 PM
HDWen said...
Beautiful colors, I love how the handles just pop against the bag!
8/9/12 1:31 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Lovely
8/9/12 2:34 PM
BJ1400 said...
That is very cute! How are the straps attached?
8/9/12 3:20 PM
lo_j said...
Lovely! I like the choice of interior fabrics, too.
8/9/12 3:53 PM
Lynn WA said...
The straps are attached rather ingeniously! A placement square is embroidered on the bag, then the strap is added and sewn down in a square with an X through it - several times so it's very strong. Then the fabric covering is placed over the strap and embroidered. Everything is firmly held in place.
8/9/12 5:01 PM
Annie P said...
Great bag!
8/10/12 0:50 AM
Kathy7661 said...
Nicely done, great bag!
8/10/12 10:47 AM
HDWen said...
I went to the link to look for the Kit you bought, but she's not got anymore. What all comes with it? Every time I look in the gallery this is the bag I drool over! :-)
8/10/12 12:41 PM
JEF said...
Gorgeous!
8/10/12 2:40 PM
sewhappygrams said...
Very pretty. I seen this bag/embroidery completed on Sewing with Nancy. Nancy had as a guest Eileen Roche who showed how this bag was machine embroidered and put together. You did a great job.
8/10/12 4:01 PM
Lynn WA said...
HDWen, I updated the link to the handbag software, so check it out! They still have it, just on a different page.
8/10/12 4:27 PM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous!
8/10/12 7:25 PM
marthamyers said...
Such an interesting approach to machine embroidery. I've been watching this on Sewing With Nancy. It's so cool to see your version!
8/10/12 8:34 PM
carolynw said...
This is one BEAUTIFUL bag - I bet you would have to pay one heck of a lot for it in any upscale store- I am totally in love with it.
8/10/12 11:24 PM
Scheri said...
What a beautiful bag.......very stylish
8/11/12 2:23 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Gorgeous boutique looking bag. Just beautiful!
8/11/12 9:49 AM
bijou90 said...
Fabulous bag, excellent embroidery.
8/11/12 11:43 AM
whistlin dixie said...
A very nice bag! I like the combinations of colors, fabrics and embroidery.
8/11/12 11:47 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Amazing bag -- looks very expensive. Did you use anything in the handles or are they just 2 layers of fabric.
8/12/12 7:46 PM
Lynn WA said...
SheBear0320 - I cut the straps 2" wide and used a medium weight iron on interfacing for the entire width. I folded it in 1/2" on each side; then I cut a 1" strip (yellow), interfaced it as well, folded it 1/4" on each side, laid it over the center of the wider strap and seweed along each edge. It was easy to do and the best part was no turning a tube yet all the raw edges are enclosed.
8/13/12 1:15 PM
arianamaniacs said...
I might have to try this out on my embroisery unit, yours turned out lovely!
8/15/12 12:06 PM
Lynn WA said...
Thank you all for the nice comments! This was my first review and it wasn't as intimidating as I thought it would be!
8/16/12 9:44 AM
Patricia from Rose Manor Farm said...
Lynn, This bag is just great! Even better in person but the detail shows nicely in the photo.
8/16/12 11:03 PM
Bonnie O said...
Love it!
8/17/12 9:28 AM
Aroura said...
Really love this bag!!
8/17/12 3:03 PM
Mrs4Him said...
Very nice--awesome job!
8/17/12 5:43 PM
maria 6705 said...
Beautiful bag!
8/17/12 7:13 PM
sewme47 said...
Super job! Looks so professional.
8/20/12 12:48 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job with this in the hoop bag. Color combinations are very attractive.
8/28/12 12:24 PM
Laurie Lou said...
I love everything about this lovely creation of yours!
9/12/12 5:11 PM
Butter Bean said...
Absolutely spectacular! I love it. You've inspired me.
9/12/12 6:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

McCall's 6241

photo
by: trumbelina

Review
BurdaStyle Downloadable 10/2012 #132 - S

photo
by: norie crea...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Buy Now