Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
StyleArc: Pleated Pia Top (Pleated Pia Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 610 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:LynnRowe
photo
Friend of PR
About LynnRowestarstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 3/9/09
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/12/12 3:17 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty top and I love your interpretation of the fabric!
8/12/12 3:48 AM
Dilliander said...
I like this pattern too, its definitely a winner and your rain water top with the gathers is gorgeous. The gathers are a lovely variation.
8/12/12 3:59 AM
leenaa said...
Very pretty fabric and nice t. I agree with you -good quality rayon/lycra -fabric is better for this kind of t-shirts! But your version is fabulous.
8/12/12 7:02 AM
leenaa said...

8/12/12 7:02 AM
Judy Kski said...
Your top turned out really nice. Thanks for the tutorial at the end of the Knit Sew Along for Beginners. I've sewn with knits for a long time and still picked up some great hints along the way.
8/12/12 10:31 AM
diane s said...
thanks for the great review, I totally agree about the neckband. Was wondering how this compared to the similar Jalie pattern.
8/12/12 1:39 PM
LynnRowe said...
Thanks all! Diane, I adore both Jalie and SA! In comparison with this pattern style, Jalie has the far better instructions (and multi sizes); SA has more "essence of waist" shaping, the back is more fitted, and I prefer the SA upper chest/shoulder drafting. SA is narrower in the upper chest and has a shorter shoulder length, so the seams sit right before the ball of the shoulder, as in RTW. The sleeve cap is higher to fit over the ball of the shoulder. This allows more arm movement without the entire top moving. I couldn't choose between them, though...I really do love both company's patterns!
8/12/12 1:51 PM
Steffie said...
Great top - love the fabric choice.
8/12/12 5:21 PM
Steffie said...
Great top - love the fabric choice.
8/12/12 5:23 PM
ArtAttack said...
Adorable! Love the fabric and the gathers rather than pleats.
8/13/12 1:33 AM
Karine said...
I love this top! I've looked at the pattern before, but your version has inspired me. Can't wait to see your pleated version.
8/13/12 10:10 AM
AuntieShel said...
I love your top and thank you for reviewing. Have not tried the Style Arc patterns yet, though I am tempted by the great designs and good reviews. Am curious in the defining factor to your conclusion that your fabric is cotton, not rayon, as I have not been able to tell the difference between the two in a burn test. Is there a better way to tell? Also, would love to know the source of your fabric as I absolutely love it and would love to get some if any is still available. It is so my style. Thank you for your help.
8/13/12 1:41 PM
Cynthia2 said...
Beautiful. I love the fabric and the top looks great. I've not tried Style Arc, but you've inspired me to do so.
8/13/12 7:29 PM
LynnRowe said...
AuntieShel, I do the burn test, but could tell just looking at the online photo of the fabric swatch that is was cotton, not rayon, due to the stiffer drape. With the burn test, cotton has an afterglow; rayon doesn't. Rayon will keep burning after you remove the flame. If you unravel and untwist a few threads of the fabric, rayon is made up of long filaments, cotton is short fuzzies. A drop of water on rayon is almost immediately absorbed; on cotton the water will sit as a bead for a moment. If you use a bit of known cotton and known rayon and burn them, then burn your Suspect, it will be easier to see which known the Suspect is. HTH!
8/13/12 8:09 PM
meggy said...
Love it, and the fabric!
8/13/12 10:59 PM
clotheshorse said...
Love it! It's a great pairing of fabric and pattern.
8/19/12 8:43 PM
Lynmarie said...
Thanks for the idea of using the pattern with pleats or gathers as an alternative style
8/20/12 8:37 AM
landstromd said...
Wow, rain and water for sure! I love the fabric, whatever its composition! One question, what ratio did you use for the neck band, you said you cut off 3 inches that seems like quite a lot. Thanks for any insight as I've ordered this patter and can't wait to start right away! thanks again, d
9/4/12 10:18 PM
LynnRowe said...
Sorry for the delay responding; I walk the neck binding along the neck, stretching the binding more along the front upper chest and less elsewhere, to determine the length I need and then cut the band to that length. No actual ratio done. In general, I like my binding to be 2-3" shorter than the length of the neckline. A snappy-recovery knit may need to be only 2" shorter while a soft-recovery knit may need to be cut down more. HTH!
10/28/12 2:03 PM
sewpelican said...
Lovely sewing on another lovely top.Very interested on your fabric comments. i have just bought some Italian very soft cotton, just washed it and seems to be soft w good drape. Also bought mercerised Italian cotton with seemingly similar softness and drape. Will let you know how it makes up. But I need to get that SA pattern, been on my wish list for a while.
10/31/12 2:10 AM
marymary86 said...
I especially appreciated your comments about the front width and how the fit is spot on.
8/29/13 1:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Simplicity 1788
photo
Review by Andreahg on 6/21/10
Read Review

McCalls 6530 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6530 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1296 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1296 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Ruffled Halter Ruffled Halter
photo
Review by hestiah on 6/2/11
Read Review

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Mae Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll Mae Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Details
Price: $89.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us