SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Japanese Pattern Books> Drape Drape Dress no 3 (Drape Drape Dress no 3 )

3 more reviews
Viewed 470 times 
Reviewed by:valerie sews
photo

 
 
About valerie sewsstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/1/03
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/12 7:12 PM
Last Updated:8/19/12 6:45 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cerulean said...
Great job! Very interesting pattern! Very pretty too!
8/15/12 8:01 PM
Heatherrique said...
Just one click on your thumbnail and what an enviably attractive dress on you, Valerie. You dazzle in this!
8/15/12 8:11 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow!!! Stunning dress, you look fabulous!!!
8/15/12 8:53 PM
miausiau said...
I love that. The gathered details make it special and your fabric choice is perfect. I must take another look at that book!
8/15/12 9:21 PM
Dilliander said...
Fabulous rendition of this pattern, very clever and very pretty.
8/15/12 9:22 PM
sunnysewer said...
I really like it and now am intrigued by this book. well done.
8/16/12 1:10 AM
Margaret said...
Very nice dress -- what an interesting cut, and it looks great on you!
8/16/12 5:54 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Thanks for reviewing this! Can you give any more information about what size you normally sew and how the Drape Drape sizes compared? I really want to sew this but I'm scrared XL will still be too small!
8/16/12 7:30 AM
valerie sews said...
thank you so much ladies. Squirrelypoo I normally sew a big four 12-14 hybrid, taking things out a tiny bit at the waist and shortening hems. In burda I am a size 42. My material was a soft quite drapey cotton/lycra with moderate stretch. I did a tiny seam at the centre back then took it in half a centimetre. Give it a go. The sizing is not as tiny as I thought.
8/16/12 8:24 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Valerie - thanks so much for responding! I'm a Burda 42, too, so that this fit you makes me feel SO much better! thanks!
8/16/12 9:51 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress looks fabulous on you - am in love with your fabric
8/16/12 2:39 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress looks fabulous on you - am in love with your fabric
8/16/12 2:40 PM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely dress, Valerie!
8/16/12 5:45 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Great dress, Valerie! I've tried one pattern from that book and had a problem but you definitely got it right!
8/16/12 8:55 PM
Sassy T said...
Lovely dress. Link doesn't go to your blog though.
8/19/12 6:04 AM
valerie sews said...
Thanks Sassy T. I fixed the link.
8/19/12 6:46 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Great print placement, thanks for the review
8/21/12 1:20 AM
flyawayhair said...
I just made my first version (definitely a muslin) of this dress. Coming up a bit perplexed....did you have tucks show up at the end of the front waist seams (not the gathers)? Seems like I did something wrong or need to grade that seam more like a dart.
3/10/13 6:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now