Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Japanese Pattern Books: Drape Drape Dress no 3 (Drape Drape Dress no 3 ) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 448 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:valerie sews
photo
About valerie sewsstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/1/03
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/12 7:12 PM
Last Updated:8/19/12 6:45 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cerulean said...
Great job! Very interesting pattern! Very pretty too!
8/15/12 8:01 PM
Heatherrique said...
Just one click on your thumbnail and what an enviably attractive dress on you, Valerie. You dazzle in this!
8/15/12 8:11 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow!!! Stunning dress, you look fabulous!!!
8/15/12 8:53 PM
miausiau said...
I love that. The gathered details make it special and your fabric choice is perfect. I must take another look at that book!
8/15/12 9:21 PM
Dilliander said...
Fabulous rendition of this pattern, very clever and very pretty.
8/15/12 9:22 PM
sunnysewer said...
I really like it and now am intrigued by this book. well done.
8/16/12 1:10 AM
Margaret said...
Very nice dress -- what an interesting cut, and it looks great on you!
8/16/12 5:54 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Thanks for reviewing this! Can you give any more information about what size you normally sew and how the Drape Drape sizes compared? I really want to sew this but I'm scrared XL will still be too small!
8/16/12 7:30 AM
valerie sews said...
thank you so much ladies. Squirrelypoo I normally sew a big four 12-14 hybrid, taking things out a tiny bit at the waist and shortening hems. In burda I am a size 42. My material was a soft quite drapey cotton/lycra with moderate stretch. I did a tiny seam at the centre back then took it in half a centimetre. Give it a go. The sizing is not as tiny as I thought.
8/16/12 8:24 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Valerie - thanks so much for responding! I'm a Burda 42, too, so that this fit you makes me feel SO much better! thanks!
8/16/12 9:51 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress looks fabulous on you - am in love with your fabric
8/16/12 2:39 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress looks fabulous on you - am in love with your fabric
8/16/12 2:40 PM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely dress, Valerie!
8/16/12 5:45 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Great dress, Valerie! I've tried one pattern from that book and had a problem but you definitely got it right!
8/16/12 8:55 PM
Sassy T said...
Lovely dress. Link doesn't go to your blog though.
8/19/12 6:04 AM
valerie sews said...
Thanks Sassy T. I fixed the link.
8/19/12 6:46 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Great print placement, thanks for the review
8/21/12 1:20 AM
flyawayhair said...
I just made my first version (definitely a muslin) of this dress. Coming up a bit perplexed....did you have tucks show up at the end of the front waist seams (not the gathers)? Seems like I did something wrong or need to grade that seam more like a dart.
3/10/13 6:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 2925
photo
Review by Lisa Davis... on 3/21/10
Read Review

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Kimono Top Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2788
photo
Review by Twinset on 11/30/08
Read Review

Vogue 8584 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8584 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6740 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6740 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us