SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1247 (Misses' Top and Skirt)

100 more reviews
Viewed 457 times 
Reviewed by:miausiau
photo

 
 
About miausiaustarstar
NY USA
Member since: 4/13/11
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:8/18/12 2:51 PM
Last Updated:8/18/12 4:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Luxe but relaxed and indeed smashing with your jeans. Very pretty!
8/18/12 4:40 PM
Renren said...
I like the way you sew and I like the way you write about sewing. You move through both worlds (sewing and writing) with a precision and exactitude that makes me believe you are an expert. This review of the 1247 is another fine example.
8/18/12 7:04 PM
sewtime said...
I just finished this top (did not post it) like yours more! Very cute.
8/18/12 10:24 PM
lamstu said...
I am pondering this top myself, and every viewpoint informs. As you say, it's an expensive toile, but good way to test a new pattern.
8/18/12 11:52 PM
cocosloft said...
Great review!
8/19/12 7:55 AM
cleverkitty said...
Your right it looks great with jeans, I hear you in regards to this pattern. Making it myself it's good/not good, you just need to run the show... In the end I was optimistic.
8/19/12 9:28 AM
kias2 said...
Having just finished this top myself, I agree about the bias on the sleeve. I don't really understand why the pattern included this. Apart from that I think it is a great design and actually looks harder to make than it is. Yours is (as well as all the other reviewers) proof of this.
8/19/12 11:30 AM
a life in stitches said...
I like the cuffs. The cut edge of the sleeve pieces is an odd angle in relation to the straight grain, and I don't think other options (hem/cuff extension/cuff cut on straight grain) would work well. Using cotton lawn - easier to handle than your fabric! - the bias cuff, with a holding stitch at underarm sits well.
8/20/12 9:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

KnipMode Magazine 01-2011-6

photo
by: treefrog

Review
Children's Corner 271: Lakelin

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now