SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1247 (Misses' Top and Skirt)

115 more reviews
Viewed 466 times 
Reviewed by:miausiau
photo

 
 
About miausiaustarstar
Member since: 4/13/11
Reviews written: 105
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 88
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:8/18/12 2:51 PM
Last Updated:8/18/12 4:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
a life in stitches said... (8/20/12 9:23 AM) Reply
I like the cuffs. The cut edge of the sleeve pieces is an odd angle in relation to the straight grain, and I don't think other options (hem/cuff extension/cuff cut on straight grain) would work well. Using cotton lawn - easier to handle than your fabric! - the bias cuff, with a holding stitch at underarm sits well.
kias2 said... (8/19/12 11:30 AM) Reply
Having just finished this top myself, I agree about the bias on the sleeve. I don't really understand why the pattern included this. Apart from that I think it is a great design and actually looks harder to make than it is. Yours is (as well as all the other reviewers) proof of this.
cleverkitty said... (8/19/12 9:28 AM) Reply
Your right it looks great with jeans, I hear you in regards to this pattern. Making it myself it's good/not good, you just need to run the show... In the end I was optimistic.
cocosloft said... (8/19/12 7:55 AM) Reply
Great review!
lamstu said... (8/18/12 11:52 PM) Reply
I am pondering this top myself, and every viewpoint informs. As you say, it's an expensive toile, but good way to test a new pattern.
sewtime said... (8/18/12 10:24 PM) Reply
I just finished this top (did not post it) like yours more! Very cute.
renren said... (8/18/12 7:04 PM) Reply
I like the way you sew and I like the way you write about sewing. You move through both worlds (sewing and writing) with a precision and exactitude that makes me believe you are an expert. This review of the 1247 is another fine example.
Elona said... (8/18/12 4:40 PM) Reply
Luxe but relaxed and indeed smashing with your jeans. Very pretty!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Violette Field Threads Stella

photo
by: busymomof3

Review
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Pattern Details