SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1312 (Misses Dress)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1361 times 
Reviewed by:Graca
photo

 
 
About Gracastarstar
Member since: 7/25/11
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/12 2:52 PM
Last Updated:8/20/12 10:29 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
tiadia said...
Love both your versions. Popped over to your blog and really think you nailed it with the shorter length. It's perfect.
5/30/14 2:26 PM
KathySews said...
Thanks so much for the info on how you shortened this dress. I am 5'2" so always stress over shortening but keeping the designed length integrity. It looks the perfect length on you
1/8/13 8:45 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
All the versions on Pattern Review have been successful so I am really itching to try it. I have the pattern and the fabric. Thank you for posting more info on your blog.
12/28/12 5:28 PM
chenille said...
Awesome! That looks great on you.
8/23/12 3:10 AM
wimmie said...
I am so glad you were able to make the picture bigger. You know 50 is the new 40 and you wear it well. Your dress is beautiful. happy birthday.
8/21/12 10:43 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Love the blog post! Gorgeous dres And car!
8/21/12 9:48 AM
Graca said...
Hello everyone, I'm going to apologize if I wasn't as clear as I could have been about the hem adjustment I made. I wrote another blog post that has a photo of the pattern piece. I hope it helps. The link is found under the "Pattern alterations or any design changes you made" section of my review.
8/20/12 10:33 PM
DorothyK said...
I'm just about to make this dress, so I'm very happy to see your review. I'm most interested in how much you shortened it - it looks like four inches? The dress looks fabulous on you. I'm sure wearing it made your belated birthday even better.
8/20/12 7:13 PM
Curly26 said...
I am no longer on the fence your vogue pose has convinced me to order the pattern. Thanks for your review and pictures.
8/20/12 1:40 PM
norie creates said...
I love this dress and I like your pose way better than the model : ). Thanks for the review.
8/20/12 11:57 AM
AndreaSews said...
So cute! Looks like a fun dress to wear.
8/20/12 11:08 AM
betty bushwacker said...
OK that tipped the scale for me. I'm ordering this today. I'm 55 and I absolutely love it on you. What stopped me was the rating on the pattern for hourglass shaped figures only. With a raised waistline and a fuller skirt I can't quite figure that one out...
8/20/12 9:39 AM
marec said...
This dress is really cute and I can see that you enjoyed making it. Nice work and a fun review.
8/20/12 9:19 AM
Graca said...
I think I fixed the links. The second link that I added has photo of me wearing the dress. I even tried "the Vogue pose" for your entertainment.
8/20/12 7:50 AM
Rebecca D said...
I add my voice to the others saying, "It would be great to see this on you." Love this dress, have it in the stash and think it may be a major player this fall.
8/20/12 7:12 AM
arianamaniacs said...
So glad this review has been added, I've been eyeing this! Can you connect a picture to PR though? I prefer that over everyone only giving a thumbnail and I have to cut & paste to go to another site to see it. Also some of your experiences on shortening would be interesting to add to this review. I find that PR outlasts most blogs and then all the helpful information is lost.
8/20/12 2:49 AM
mm said...
Good to see your review. I have been thinking about this pattern for summer.
8/20/12 0:13 AM
jenleeC said...
Thanks for the review and photos. Vogue's ridiculous poses and the black fabric make it almost impossible to assess this pattern.
8/19/12 11:25 PM
Curly26 said...
I would love to see a picture of you wearing the dress. I am on the fence about trying this pattern.
8/19/12 9:15 PM
valerie sews said...
Thank you for doing a review of this dress. I will be shortening the dress too as I am the same height as you. BTW I just had trouble with a link too. Be sure to copy all the address. I had a missing bottom line ..
8/19/12 6:52 PM
Graca said...
I am short, I don't mind saying, a wee 5-foot-1, I should have mentioned that, sorry. I blogged about it over at http://sewessentiallysew.blogspot.ca/ the exact page address is listed in the conclusion, for some reason I couldn't get the link to work for me. The upper skirt pieces (front and back) have "lengthen or shorten here" tags but I did not shorten the skirt back or front (pattern pieces 6 and 7). I only shortened the length on the lower side, front and back skirt pieces (pattern pieces 8, 9 and 10). I shortened these three pieces by folding the hemline up four inches. And I'm totally happy with the length with this adjustment. As for the bodice, I love the fit of the bodice. I don't think that darts would have made me any happier. I think in the next version I could go a size smaller especially at the side armhole area. But that is just my own fitting quirks, not a issue with the pattern. I enjoyed sewing this dress, and hope you do too. I thought it was quite fun to make.
8/19/12 5:42 PM
marthamyers said...
I forgot to asked your height - hence the comment about the length. Would you share your height?
8/19/12 4:32 PM
marthamyers said...
I have this pattern in the queue, so I'm pleased to see your review. You mentioned something about it sweeping the floor. Was it too long as is? Also I was worried about the bodice since it has no darts. Would you have liked it any better with fitting darts? Sorry to pepper you with questions. Also any chance of a link to your picture? Your gallery post does not link to a picture. Something larger would be great! Thanks.
8/19/12 4:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Vogue Patterns V8139

photo
by: lisalu

Review
Vogue Patterns 8667

photo
by: Pamaro

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now