SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1312 (Misses Dress)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1343 times 
Reviewed by:Graca
photo

 
 
About Gracastar
Member since: 7/25/11
Reviews written: 100
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/12 2:52 PM
Last Updated:8/20/12 10:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marthamyers said...
I have this pattern in the queue, so I'm pleased to see your review. You mentioned something about it sweeping the floor. Was it too long as is? Also I was worried about the bodice since it has no darts. Would you have liked it any better with fitting darts? Sorry to pepper you with questions. Also any chance of a link to your picture? Your gallery post does not link to a picture. Something larger would be great! Thanks.
8/19/12 4:31 PM
marthamyers said...
I forgot to asked your height - hence the comment about the length. Would you share your height?
8/19/12 4:32 PM
Graca said...
I am short, I don't mind saying, a wee 5-foot-1, I should have mentioned that, sorry. I blogged about it over at http://sewessentiallysew.blogspot.ca/ the exact page address is listed in the conclusion, for some reason I couldn't get the link to work for me. The upper skirt pieces (front and back) have "lengthen or shorten here" tags but I did not shorten the skirt back or front (pattern pieces 6 and 7). I only shortened the length on the lower side, front and back skirt pieces (pattern pieces 8, 9 and 10). I shortened these three pieces by folding the hemline up four inches. And I'm totally happy with the length with this adjustment. As for the bodice, I love the fit of the bodice. I don't think that darts would have made me any happier. I think in the next version I could go a size smaller especially at the side armhole area. But that is just my own fitting quirks, not a issue with the pattern. I enjoyed sewing this dress, and hope you do too. I thought it was quite fun to make.
8/19/12 5:42 PM
valerie sews said...
Thank you for doing a review of this dress. I will be shortening the dress too as I am the same height as you. BTW I just had trouble with a link too. Be sure to copy all the address. I had a missing bottom line ..
8/19/12 6:52 PM
Curly26 said...
I would love to see a picture of you wearing the dress. I am on the fence about trying this pattern.
8/19/12 9:15 PM
jenleeC said...
Thanks for the review and photos. Vogue's ridiculous poses and the black fabric make it almost impossible to assess this pattern.
8/19/12 11:25 PM
mm said...
Good to see your review. I have been thinking about this pattern for summer.
8/20/12 0:13 AM
arianamaniacs said...
So glad this review has been added, I've been eyeing this! Can you connect a picture to PR though? I prefer that over everyone only giving a thumbnail and I have to cut & paste to go to another site to see it. Also some of your experiences on shortening would be interesting to add to this review. I find that PR outlasts most blogs and then all the helpful information is lost.
8/20/12 2:49 AM
Rebecca D said...
I add my voice to the others saying, "It would be great to see this on you." Love this dress, have it in the stash and think it may be a major player this fall.
8/20/12 7:12 AM
Graca said...
I think I fixed the links. The second link that I added has photo of me wearing the dress. I even tried "the Vogue pose" for your entertainment.
8/20/12 7:50 AM
marec said...
This dress is really cute and I can see that you enjoyed making it. Nice work and a fun review.
8/20/12 9:19 AM
betty bushwacker said...
OK that tipped the scale for me. I'm ordering this today. I'm 55 and I absolutely love it on you. What stopped me was the rating on the pattern for hourglass shaped figures only. With a raised waistline and a fuller skirt I can't quite figure that one out...
8/20/12 9:39 AM
AndreaSews said...
So cute! Looks like a fun dress to wear.
8/20/12 11:08 AM
norie creates said...
I love this dress and I like your pose way better than the model : ). Thanks for the review.
8/20/12 11:57 AM
Curly26 said...
I am no longer on the fence your vogue pose has convinced me to order the pattern. Thanks for your review and pictures.
8/20/12 1:40 PM
DorothyK said...
I'm just about to make this dress, so I'm very happy to see your review. I'm most interested in how much you shortened it - it looks like four inches? The dress looks fabulous on you. I'm sure wearing it made your belated birthday even better.
8/20/12 7:13 PM
Graca said...
Hello everyone, I'm going to apologize if I wasn't as clear as I could have been about the hem adjustment I made. I wrote another blog post that has a photo of the pattern piece. I hope it helps. The link is found under the "Pattern alterations or any design changes you made" section of my review.
8/20/12 10:33 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Love the blog post! Gorgeous dres And car!
8/21/12 9:48 AM
wimmie said...
I am so glad you were able to make the picture bigger. You know 50 is the new 40 and you wear it well. Your dress is beautiful. happy birthday.
8/21/12 10:43 PM
chenille said...
Awesome! That looks great on you.
8/23/12 3:10 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
All the versions on Pattern Review have been successful so I am really itching to try it. I have the pattern and the fabric. Thank you for posting more info on your blog.
12/28/12 5:28 PM
KathySews said...
Thanks so much for the info on how you shortened this dress. I am 5'2" so always stress over shortening but keeping the designed length integrity. It looks the perfect length on you
1/8/13 8:45 AM
tiadia said...
Love both your versions. Popped over to your blog and really think you nailed it with the shorter length. It's perfect.
5/30/14 2:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Kwik Sew 2981

photo
by: mudcat

Review
Vogue Patterns 1086

photo
by: julliams

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Buy Now