Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1309 (Misses Tunic and Pants) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 980 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:CatMukai
photo
About CatMukaistar
CA USA
Member since: 5/31/07
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/12 5:30 PM
Last Updated:11/9/13 0:30 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 1309 by CatMukai

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 1309
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag: Issey Miyake  
Fabric:Polyester Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Pullover tunic has front and back cut-in-one, no shoulder/side seams, upper right section, left panel, square armholes, left side back zipper, shaped hemline, stitched hem, and unfinished and continuous bias finished edges.

Pattern Sizing: 6-14. The pattern is for woven fabrics, but based on Ann Smith's enlightening review, I chose a knit and cut a size 8. For a woven I would've chosen a size 10, but I wanted this to be snugger in the knit.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes. You match up the lettered points and sew them in alphabetical order. It's pretty fun, because everything's a straight line.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like how off the beaten path this is. The drapes are cool, because they are really open, but when the wind blows, you will feel it. You have to be careful about how you move, too, so you don't flash people. I ended up safety pinning the center front shut at the neckline.

Fabric Used: Polyester knit from Piedmont Fabrics. They gave me a generous 82" for a 2-yard cut, so I decided to use the entire length and make a dress, which is more reasonable for my wardrobe, too.

I ironed on 1/2" of woven interfacing around the edges of each pattern piece and the slit. I don't have a serger, so I used the overlock stitch on my sewing machine to finish the edges, including the slit. That worked well enough for this purpose. I left the hem unfinished and uninterfaced.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I turned the tunic into a dress, which is really just making the rectangle (Pieces 1, 1A, and 1B) longer. I made it longer by 7" in each end. I also decided to use a knit, so I went down a size and ended up making Piece 4 only 5" wide, not the 8" or so the pattern calls for. Also, since it's a knit, there's no zipper and this has ended up being the easiest thing I have to wear.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes! My fabric was 60" wide, and the main rectangle of this pattern is only 17.5" wide, so I will be making an identical version. The differences will be a longer and thinner godet (Piece 3), because I had a modesty and fit issue on the right side. For now I've just pinched a bit out and pinned it, but for the next dress I think changing Piece 3 will get the job done.

Conclusion: I'm already planning my next version! Luckily I googled the pattern and in addition to Ann Smith's review found some bloggers' notes on the tunic. They recommended marking all pattern points on the right side of the fabric with painter's tape, which I did: Construction.

I do wish there was a little less exposure and I could wear this to work, but I think for round 2 I'm going to raise the length of the side panels and see if I can't tack the back together so it's not so low.

Left Side

Right Side

Back

November 2013 Update The knits I've bought are 60" wide, so when I make this dress, I make two. My best friend and I now have TWO matching dresses. Here we are in the latest iterations, in a dressier black poly with gold flocking:

Front of hers

Vogueing!

Front of mine

Back of mine

She had also requested a flared skirt. You can (hopefully) see here how I modified the long left-side rectangle to add a flare below the waist. It worked on hers, and in fact when I tried her dress on before mailing it off I thought it was more fun with the flare, too!

Flared pattern piece
Buy this pattern for $32.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
Like that print!
8/19/12 5:40 PM
prttynpnk said...
Gorgeous, I love seeing this in a dress length.
8/19/12 6:04 PM
CSY said...
Fabulous! The knit looks fantastic.
8/19/12 6:46 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Beautiful dress and it worked out nicely in a knit!
8/19/12 7:04 PM
hme75 said...
Oh wow, this looks great!
8/19/12 7:34 PM
carolynw said...
WOW - looks great on you and the fabric is just so right for this.
8/19/12 7:40 PM
Renata said...
I liked this as a top, now I love it as a dress. Gotta have it. Thanks for the push. You look totally fabulous.
8/19/12 8:24 PM
jenleeC said...
This looks wonderful as a dress! The longer line shows off the drape and stops it looking too boxy. Perfect fabric choice.
8/19/12 10:26 PM
sewtime said...
So pretty, love the fabric!
8/19/12 10:48 PM
DaisyA said...
Your dress looks great! A great idea using a knit. I have a linen for mine. Its still too cold in Sydney at present so i will keep on planning.
8/20/12 0:36 AM
Athene said...
Great results and you look lovely in this style.
8/20/12 0:40 AM
lamstu said...
I just LOVE your dress! (I think I will have to copy you and make it longer, when I get around to it.) Fabulous!!
8/20/12 4:47 AM
Blooms said...
This is gorgeous. I love the fabric you used and it has worked great as a dress.
8/20/12 5:45 AM
VivianZ said...
Lovely dress. I love the drape on the knit.
8/20/12 7:13 AM
duckbucket said...
Really, really cute.
8/20/12 10:25 AM
waltzqueen said...
Lovely dress, and so much nicer than the pattern photo. I just love it!
8/21/12 4:57 PM
miausiau said...
I agree about the issues with gaping. It can be resolved to some extent once you "get" this pattern. You've certainly gotten it and then some. Love your dress!
10/14/12 7:09 PM
Mandski said...
Stunning! Your dresses are so much nicer than the tunic pic on the original pattern.
11/9/13 6:51 AM
Christas said...
Excellent fabric choice for this pattern. Your version is much prettier than the pattern envelope pic!
11/9/13 11:46 AM
canei said...
Very nice!
11/9/13 1:31 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive dress on you, Cat! You definitely would rule the runway in this. :-)
11/9/13 10:16 PM
liliv said...
Very elegant! Love it!!
11/10/13 12:21 PM
aaltje said...
I really love your dress version! Simply stunning.
11/14/13 3:12 PM
SJ Kurtz said...
Girl, you have this thing DOWN! I have made two, and now I smell a third with a flare in the skirt. Thanks thanks thanks!
12/5/13 1:04 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

McCall's 6471 Misses' Skirts
photo
Review by nickelc624 on 5/20/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Winter PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Winter PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2223
photo
Review by BJ1400 on 5/30/11
Read Review

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5401 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 5401 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4343 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Butterick 4343 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us