SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1314 (Misses' Dress)

51 more reviews
Viewed 1826 times 
Reviewed by:chenille
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About chenillestar
AK
Member since: 7/4/11
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 58
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:8/23/12 2:47 AM
Last Updated:8/23/12 2:53 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 40 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
48 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
Great review and photos. Your pose is fantastic. I am interested in this pattern and if I purchase it and make it up I will be sure to refer to your very helpful review and photos. You look fabulous in this dress. Thank you.
8/23/12 3:14 AM
chenille said...
Thanks! You know I did try to get on the windowsill, but I didn't fit.
8/23/12 3:20 AM
Rebecca D said...
Thanks for the helpful photos and good tip on the pleating.
8/23/12 6:32 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Great dress and super helpful review. Thanks!
8/23/12 7:13 AM
Marnie D said...
Thanks for such a fantastic review. I intend to buy this pattern and it will be very helpful. Your pose made me laugh. Thanks
8/23/12 7:31 AM
no7262 said...
Love it! Nora :)
8/23/12 7:49 AM
canei said...
Very nice....love the pose!!!!
8/23/12 8:05 AM
Deepika said...
What a great idea to pleat. I have some RtW dresses which have pleats. I also have the Janome ruffler foot but it doesn't work on knits. Using fusible tricot is a great tip. I'm going to have to try this. Thank you!!! Oh and I love the pose
8/23/12 8:39 AM
marthamyers said...
Love the pose! And the dress is great too. How clever of you to notice the pleats in RTW. I would not have thought of that. Your dress looks fabulous on you.
8/23/12 8:57 AM
AuntieShel said...
Beautiful dress!!
8/23/12 9:02 AM
Carolyn.S said...
Your dress is very beautiful, and your pose is priceless!!! I loved it!
8/23/12 9:12 AM
ArtAttack said...
Great dress and review. Super tip to pleat rather than gather. I must pick up this pattern on the next Vogue sale. Thanks for the great review!
8/23/12 9:58 AM
marec said...
A+ (sorry, in a hurry to get to jury duty)
8/23/12 10:00 AM
sunnysewer said...
Clever innovation and your dress looks great. But the pose is genius. I think everyone should copy the Vogue poses this season, I hope you have started a trend.
8/23/12 10:54 AM
zuzu_petal said...
That pic made my morning! Thanks, too, for the brilliant tip.
8/23/12 11:25 AM
GoSewGirl said...
Wonderful review with lots of good tips. And I love your photo.
8/23/12 11:41 AM
Judy Kski said...
I guess you have to be in a New York highrise to strike that pose....
8/23/12 12:27 PM
Judy Kski said...
Sorry! I didn't appear to take the first time.
8/23/12 12:27 PM
chenille said...
So glad that you liked the pleating tip. I am sewing on a Janome 3160 QDC and using the Janome ruffler. With the solvy - I could even do gathering every stitch. I agree that we should all do the Vogue poses in our reviews - fun!
8/23/12 12:38 PM
Levone said...
Gorgeous dress and great review! The pose is priceless, LOL.
8/23/12 2:26 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"This was a straight size 6"... ;D :'( Sew cute!!
8/23/12 5:06 PM
Sarah Sewing said...
Love the dress and fabric choice, your pose is perfect!
8/23/12 5:41 PM
Jrhee said...
Awesome dress and hilarious pose!
8/23/12 9:23 PM
MNBarb said...
Funny, when I saw this dress I wondered if I might see you in a review of it. Now many women look this great in a very fitted knit dress. How nice of you to include all of the details you've worked out. Love the pose (what is with these odd poses? How about the woman who looks like she is sitting on the toilet?). Fun, fun!
8/23/12 9:38 PM
1SewSweet said...
Cute, cute, cute! What a perfect dress on you! Awesome pose! Vogue needs to hire you!
8/24/12 5:31 AM
sfshaza said...
lol. Love the pose! And the dress is very nice but that pose caught my attention. :)
8/24/12 6:51 AM
Fran G said...
Wonderful review..great idea/tip about using the usible before pleating and a good alternative to gathering. But I loved your pose the best!!!!! Too funny!
8/24/12 8:21 AM
cleverkitty said...
Your so funny I just love your pose! great review beautiful dress on you as always.
8/24/12 9:14 AM
couturemom said...
Whoever shot the photos for the fall Vogue must have been bored with regular shots. Unfortunately they make it very hard to discern the styling elements of the patterns, not to mention the poses are ridiculous for a high rise office window.
8/24/12 9:16 AM
JOshiro said...
Awesome review and even awesomer pic! Thanks for the laugh! I have a ruffler, although I never used it for anything beyond samples. Maybe this will be the dress for it?!
8/24/12 10:00 AM
karen n said...
Now that I've seen the pattern photo I finally get it! That's funny!
8/24/12 3:11 PM
SewPrincess said...
Great dress! And you're giving the model a run for her money with that pose! :)
8/24/12 5:55 PM
QuikSew said...
Fabulous job!! The dress is stunning on you, and the creativity is quite motivating. I need to follow your lead and spend more time analyzing RTW.
8/26/12 7:36 AM
Sue Parrott said...
How fun, I love how you copied the model's photo! Great idea on the use of the ruffler.
8/26/12 9:42 AM
DOMESTICATEDMENNONITE said...
You look so happy! :-)
8/28/12 8:43 AM
slee said...
Great review! Love your dress and your Vogue pose! LOL
8/28/12 9:49 AM
Paris75008 said...
What a great photo and great review. I love your dress. I bought this pattern and I'm planning on making it soon. Your tip for using a ruffler is pure gold, thank you so much. Now I just have to go out and buy a ruffler foot...
8/28/12 6:48 PM
allycovey said...
What great tips, adn the pose ...WONDERFUL.... I have this pattern on the way I can't wait to make it now.
8/31/12 4:33 PM
wordchick said...
This looks wonderful on you! The fabric is beautiful...love it!!! Thanks for the detailed pics in your gallery...very helpful!
9/1/12 6:35 AM
sewcool21 said...
Great revew! I love the pic!
9/1/12 9:01 PM
BeckyNoSleep said...
Thanks for the laugh, I needed it today! Great dress, too.
9/12/12 3:43 PM
jenleeC said...
Thanks so much for this detailed review and your pics on the gathering/ruffling process. I have just ordered this pattern to make for my DD and will refer to your review.
10/23/12 0:17 AM
evelynhughes said...
Thank you for taking the time to create this review. Now I know to add a bit of length the the dress to fit my 6ft body. LOVE the pic by the way!
10/30/12 10:20 PM
Susan J. said...
Thanks for your comprehensive review. I am wondering what you used for your lining fabric. Thanks.
11/3/12 9:02 PM
Susan J. said...
Thanks for your comprehensive review. I am wondering what you used for your lining fabric. Thanks.
11/3/12 9:02 PM
chenille said...
Susan, I used a knit tricot fabric that I think I got from Joanne's. It looks like a fine mesh and does have some lycra in it.
11/7/12 7:15 PM
SewWil said...
How did I miss this?!!! Your dress is beautiful. Great review. Thanks.
3/7/13 10:08 PM
Sew Good said...
Thank you! This was an excellent review. Your tips will help me a lot.
10/16/13 0:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Vogue Patterns 8771

photo
by: Gigi1168

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-30

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now