Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
LaFred: Clio Blouse (Clio Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 362 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/28/12 1:03 AM
Last Updated:8/28/12 1:07 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewWil said...
VERY PRETTY top!!! Great choice of fabric for this style and I like the button you added. Great job! I've never heard of this brand of pattern. Thanks for your detailed review.
8/28/12 1:22 AM
Renren said...
Your friend is going to love this. I like the turn of the wing collar, the button, the perfect topstitching, and the couture cotton! I don't know what couture cotton is either, but that is one fine looking piece of fabric. I'm guessing it's made with long-staple cotton and it feels silky smooth. I think I need to look into these LaFred patterns.
8/28/12 1:46 AM
Annette1 said...
SewWil and Renren: I had never used a LaFred pattern either, but I really did like the way this one turned out! I have her "Thalia Pants" pattern, too, and I'm kind of anxious to try that one now. And I like the "Helena Dress," too (although I don't have that one YET). :o) Thanks!
8/28/12 2:01 AM
Sigrid. said...
Pretty top. Beautifully made as always and the button is an Annette feature. Lovely.
8/28/12 3:01 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful top and super review. Thanks for being so thorough.
8/28/12 6:03 AM
Rebecca D said...
I saw those couture cottons and it's nice to see the fabric made up. Great looking blouse. I had never heard of this LaFred pattern. Darn chic and versatile.
8/28/12 6:42 AM
HeyJane said...
Very pretty, that looks like some high quality fabric that's very comfortable to wear.
8/28/12 8:05 AM
Christas said...
Very lovely top! The fabric is sooo pretty and looks so perfect made into this pattern. Of course, the button is a great detail, too! Excellent review and garment, AS ALWAYS! This looks like a great brand of patterns. Thank you for bringing them to my attention!
8/28/12 8:49 AM
KarlaB said...
Very pretty top! I'm sure your friend will love it!
8/28/12 9:00 AM
Mermie said...
Love this! You do beautiful work!
8/28/12 9:36 AM
RLL said...
Annete, this is beautifully done and the button is perfect. You always know the right touch. I have always liked alot of the LaFred patterns and I am glad to see that you can still get them after Fred's passing in 2010. She was a wonderful designer, a fabulous person all around.
8/28/12 10:03 AM
mleclair said...
So very well done. Thanks for a wonderful review.
8/28/12 10:40 AM
Gilberta said...
Very nice, crisp looking collar~
8/28/12 10:45 AM
MNBarb said...
Annette, you need to make this pattern for yourself! It's so YOU. I'm wearing a Burda top with similar shape today and it's so easy/breezy. Your work on this top is impeccable and I love the 2 inch topstitching. Everything about it is "just right".
8/28/12 11:05 AM
blue mooney said...
This is so darn nice! Your friend is awfully lucky to be getting it. Now I'll be on the lookout for this pattern.
8/28/12 11:16 AM
persevering said...
Thanks for sharing - this is a great style - I learn so much from reading your reviews and seeing what you post of the process too (thanks for the entertainment of your writing too), and appreciate reading your linked interfacing tip for the 1st time too.
8/28/12 11:47 AM
cmarie12 said...
This is a pretty top. Love the fabric choice. And you write the best reviews, so thorough!
8/28/12 12:26 PM
Barbara V said...
So glad to see that you have sewn a LaFred pattern. Makes me happy to see Fred's designs being sewn; but a bit sad in recalling her passing. I feel fortunate in having known her. You're always so generous with sharing your fabrics and here you are sewing for a friend.....what a Sweet Heart! The top turned out really cute and you did a super job (no surprise there)....and the button adds a nice touch. Looking forward to seeing the next one that you make for yourself! And BTW, I agree with you that it would look good with a long pencil skirt.
8/28/12 6:48 PM
Karendee said...
After seeing this wonderfully made blouse I quickly bought a Clio before the mad dash to find them. I love the way the collar is so beautifully executed and frames the face. Your work is beautiful and perfect as always. You are so generous will your talents and time.
8/28/12 8:06 PM
VivianZ said...
This is a beautiful blouse. I love it with this fabric. I bought this same fabric and made a vintage Vogue shirt dress for my daughter.
8/29/12 7:20 AM
1SewSweet said...
Beautiful blouse...your friend is a very lucky person!
8/29/12 10:48 PM
Margaret said...
Cute top and wonderful gift! Love all the different directions shown off by the checks!
8/30/12 7:57 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

McCall's 8550
photo
Review by ShereeSews on 6/17/03
Read Review

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Wonder Wallet
Wonder Wallet

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1201 Renfrew Top
photo
Review by laurajanef... on 11/21/13
Read Review

Butterick 5965 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5965 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6886 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6886 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us