SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1312 (Misses Dress)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1470 times 
Reviewed by:DorothyK
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About DorothyKstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/13/06
Reviews written: 88
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/12 5:06 PM
Last Updated:9/3/12 2:12 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kkkkaty said...
Love this dress, and will be making it in a knit. I have some ponte I'd like to use. Do you think you need as much fabric as the pattern suggests? I have three yards, would some creative thinking on the layout make that enough? Also, glad to see you post, and wondering how Ann is since she also hasn't posted in a while. Pls pass along best wishes from a fan of her reviews....
1/10/13 12:12 PM
DorothyK said...
GinormicaMG, thank you for your comments. I did not use a serger - I don't even have one. Sometimes I use a small zigzag on knits (a tip from Sandra Betzina), but I'm not even sure if I did that on this pattern. I think you will love the dress in a knit.
1/9/13 1:08 PM
GinormicaMG said...
Great job Dorothy and i love the pose and YOUR shoes were just right. I am also thinking of making this dress in a knit fabric. However, did you use a serger for this??
1/8/13 4:20 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Another great review and great results from this pattern. Love the poses - Vogue really got our attention with their bizzare poses.
12/28/12 5:25 PM
Gendun said...
As always, love your reviews and you look fab.
12/24/12 12:34 PM
Graca said...
You nailed those poses!
9/12/12 6:11 PM
Baja Susana said...
The dress looks lovely on you. And I love all of your poses, I had a nice chuckle. Your personality shines through. And you do not need those ugly S $ M shoes that the model is wearing.
9/9/12 1:26 PM
jlg said...
Love the dress, fantastic review and great photos.
9/8/12 5:20 PM
CypGrl said...
Thanks for a good laugh looking at your poses. I vote for glamorous. Actually, it is glamorous on you!
9/5/12 8:52 PM
chenille said...
Awesome pose! This looks great on you.
9/4/12 5:21 PM
Marge99 said...
The glamorous pose shot is brilliant!
9/4/12 1:39 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Love the entire look- fun dress, jewelry, shoes. It's a great look!
9/3/12 11:26 PM
sewtime said...
Very cute, love your review!
9/3/12 9:38 PM
sewtime said...
Very cute, love your review!
9/3/12 9:38 PM
hpsauce said...
You rock, both the dress and the poses!
9/3/12 7:38 PM
mhk3boys said...
I love your dress and review! I also LOVE your sense of humor!
9/3/12 6:27 PM
zoe said...
Wow! Beautiful. Comfortable too; better and better.
9/3/12 6:15 PM
rivergum said...
Great looking dress! It's on my list in a knit too, but I am procrastinating because a knit can't be ripped. Last time I made this using Sham's tablecloth method I ripped all the skirt pieces and it was super quick. Having to cut them will be a nuisance.
9/3/12 4:15 PM
pegsewer said...
Love your look!
9/3/12 3:28 PM
AndreaSews said...
Love it, looks great on you!
9/3/12 3:19 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Great dress and the pose is spot on! I hope your leg muscles aren't sore in the morning! :)
9/3/12 2:44 PM
Ann Smith said...
Love this. What a great comfort yet edgy dress. Can't wait to make it too.
8/31/12 12:07 PM
NVK said...
I can't wait to see the photo in the pattern pose. I would love to hear your DH comments when taking the photo. This dress looks great on you. It goes with your individual style which I love. A job done well.
8/30/12 11:12 AM
Renata said...
You have a way of wearing and styling these edgy dresses that makes me want to make them. You look fabulous.
8/30/12 7:11 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Oh yes, using a knit was clever. I love this dress for all the reasons you've stated and appreciate your review even though I'll be adding inches on to the length! Really edgy and cool. One disappointment though.....no pose........ :( (LOL)
8/30/12 1:57 AM
VogueMistress said...
You look great! I like it better on you...pose or no pose.
8/29/12 9:21 PM
marthamyers said...
Great version of this very interesting pattern. I have been wondering about how the bodice would fit without any darts. You were smart to make it in a knit. It looks perfect on you!
8/29/12 9:18 PM
Graca said...
It looks great! I really like yours with the long sleeves. I agree with going a size smaller, I thought the ease was generous and I think I will take your advice on that for my next one. Beautiful job.
8/29/12 9:12 PM
lamstu said...
What a fun dress!
8/29/12 8:59 PM
mm said...
I have ordered this pattern so am delighted to see how well it turned out.
8/29/12 7:53 PM
jenleeC said...
Great dress! I am a shorty too so it is good to see this style still works when shortened. I second the request for some crazy poses!
8/29/12 7:40 PM
DorothyK said...
OK, I guess I'll have to take a picture with the pose. Will repost when it's ready.
8/29/12 7:01 PM
Barbara V said...
Totally cool dress, Dorothy! Where's the pose????!!! Your alterations on length proved to give good proportion and choice to omit the zipper was smart. You look great in it!
8/29/12 6:37 PM
Nrs4lyf said...
Good job. I'm inspired!
8/29/12 6:20 PM
kkkkaty said...
so cute, but darn it, we want to see the pose too!
8/29/12 6:11 PM
kathleencramer said...
Nice job!
8/29/12 5:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 8821 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Maggie

Maggie

Buy Now