SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8839 (Misses' Jacket)

9 more reviews
Viewed 820 times 
Reviewed by:marthamyers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marthamyersstarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/14/05
Reviews: 157 (patterns: 142)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 77 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/12 10:08 PM
Last Updated:8/29/12 11:10 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns


vestapatterns.com
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sue Parrott said... (12/22/12 10:44 AM) Reply
I just love this! So adorable!
GumLeafDesigns said... (9/24/12 6:32 PM) Reply
I also wanted to use a fabric where both sides were interesting and provided the contrast, but appears to be very illusive. For my first try I gave up. Thank you for your review - very helpful. This will be my first garment with raw edges. Looking forward to getting started.
JillyBe said... (9/20/12 6:00 PM) Reply
Your color blocking and fabric choices are so elegant! I'm dying to make this jacket; your review is very helpful; especially since I'm afraid now that I'm realizing I probably have to give up on my initial fabric choice.
DorothyK said... (8/30/12 1:23 PM) Reply
That's a nice-looking jacket. What a brilliant idea to use color blocking. And yes, Marcy's fabric is to die for.
sewtime said... (8/30/12 11:40 AM) Reply
Wow! Beautifully made. Love the contrasting colors and the color is so cute!! Enjoy you fabulous new jacket!
VogueMistress said... (8/30/12 11:22 AM) Reply
Thanks for the informative review. This one is on my list for this fall.
marec said... (8/30/12 10:05 AM) Reply
Your version of this cardi is so pretty and just right for your wardrobe. I like the bands of color and the drape of the double collar is perfect. Excellent review with lots of tips on how best too make this up-thank you.
cleverkitty said... (8/30/12 8:52 AM) Reply
your jacket is so sharp and that Marcy Tilton fabric would be excellent for this pattern.
2 Airedales n Me said... (8/30/12 1:24 AM) Reply
Your jacket looks just great on you - classic colorways, intriguing color-blocking and an artful pattern. Great combo. Thanks for the review - this is on my "stack" but now that I've read your review I'll be very careful with my fabric selection.
Annette1 said... (8/30/12 0:25 AM) Reply
Oh, my, SO NICE in your contrasting fabrics, and I too really like that it has the double collar. Your info on the use of a woven fabric is very useful. (That would be something I'd try WITHOUT the use of a muslin -- ha!) Oh, and the fabric you linked on Marcy Tilton's site, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE. I saw that the other day and have DREAMED of it ever since. :o)
MaryDB said... (8/30/12 0:18 AM) Reply
I'm glad to see this pattern made up! Nice work, looks great on you. Looks like a fun jacket.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2011-21

photo
by: A Beginner...

Review
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Pattern Details
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Pattern Details