SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Other> 102497641 (Rocket Bottoms In a Snap Cover)

Review submitted in Sewing For Children Contest
Viewed 160 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 106
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/30/12 1:56 AM
Last Updated:12/21/12 2:11 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cowgirlbb said...
This is a great idea and you did such a good job. The patterns are so cute!
12/21/12 4:56 PM
Terri A said...
Yes, I bought a simple beginner KAM set from gotlux snaps on etsy to get going. Very inexpensive. Once I became comfortable and practiced I was fine. I am planning to buy a snap press for the sake of my hands and wrists but I have gotten used to the inexpensive hand tool for now. The wool is from scraps from a scrap bag I got from a friend. The outside is a stretch wool and the inside is a double wool crepe. They are diaper quality wools. I have seen the bolts:-)
12/21/12 1:53 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Terri, did you have to buy an expensive snap machine or pliers to do the all in one diapers? And what type of wool did you use for the diaper cover?
12/21/12 12:48 PM
Terri A said...
Oh - did you mean my cloth prefolds? I figured in shipping charges, and prewashing, but again depending on fabric (the bamboo runs $10-16 per yd, just a few dollars at most each even for the best fabric.
8/30/12 2:49 PM
Terri A said...
Thank you! Well I will try to PM you later but really it depends on where you buy your materials. I recommend buying the materials online at low prices and them it really isn't expensive. I can make about six double layer and actually more if a small size from a yard of fabric. Buy the yard at a discount and you are good. The FOE is best bought online like: Diaper Sewing Supply or Etsy. You can get oodles for cheap. Fabric.com carries multiple brands of PUL and all at a good price. When I first considered doing this I thought it would be too expensive, but now I have gotten going with it I find that you can make a diaper cover for WELL under what you would buy one for and also it will be better quality because you add your own features like leak guards and gussets. I would never buy one now bcz I can make it:-) Try this pattern to start and you wiill see what I mean or if you really want to save money make the One Size which fits allll the way through as they grow, adjusting with rise snaps. It's a few dollars a diaper once you have really good supplies laid in.
8/30/12 2:46 PM
QuikSew said...
You did a great job. My daughter is expecting and plans to use cloth diapers. What's the approximate cost per diaper to make?
8/30/12 7:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

McCall's 5962

photo
by: marvelous

Review
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

More Info
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

More Info