Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2927 (Misses Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1773 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/05 10:40 AM
Last Updated:1/13/05 11:45 AM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
The blouse and color is beautiful. I agree with you on the choice of fabric for the ruffle. A softer fabric produces a softer ruffler. Perhaps the next time you could get a coordinating soft fabric for the ruffle. I'm sure that would work.
1/13/05 11:02 AM
PhyllisC said...
MF - I made this up over the summer had the *exact* same problem with the edge on the ruffle. I ended up doing a rolled hem on my serger (and just like you, it required much experimentation.) BTW- how does the neckline work for you? I think it dips pretty low - it's ok on me, but I think many will have to adapt the pattern for that.
1/13/05 11:05 AM
MickeyFan said...
Oooo, Mary, I think a chiffon ruffle in the same color as the silk twill would look stunning. Phyllis, I agree, the neckline is rather low. On me it works because I have no cleavage to speak of...
1/13/05 11:17 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Thanks for the heads up! I have this pattern, too.
1/13/05 11:24 AM
KarenP said...
Thank you for the helpful review. Your blouse is very pretty. I've been eyeing this pattern to use with some pretty silk I have. Perhaps I should choose a different pattern for my first foray into sewing with silk.
1/13/05 11:32 AM
Jennie Pakula said...
I have this pattern too and it is hemming the ruffle that has put me off starting it! Thanks for a very helpful review and I will certainly bear in mind the template if a narrow rolled hem on the over locker doesn't work. I have a light georgette earmarked for this blouse. Yours is really lovely, very swish and a beautiful colour.
1/13/05 3:12 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your blouse is beautiful despite your trauma with rufflegate. I've only been successful with this type of ruffle by cutting two of them, sewing them together right sides together, trimming, and turning. I made a silk dupioni blouse with circular ruffle done this way, and it turned out great.
1/13/05 6:27 PM
Celeste said...
It's on here somewhere, but Gigi has a technique for a baby rolled hem that is just right for this type small hem. See if you can find it and print it out to save for the future!
1/13/05 7:09 PM
Robie Kentspeth said...
RE: Rufflegate (I love this term!) I know this would be horribly time consuming but it would look great... How about a hand-stitched rolled hem? They are fairly easy, once you get the hang of them. And they are really beautiful. That beautiful silk would be worth the time!
1/13/05 8:06 PM
edube said...
I had the same problem with the ruffle and gave up the whole project. I think Irina's idea is the best: make two and sew them together.
1/14/05 10:40 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Mickey, thanks for the ruffle warning. Irina & Robie, what great tips!
6/15/05 10:49 PM
clematis said...
YThanks for the warning!
4/6/06 4:41 PM
meanjean said...
I'm just about to make a blouse with such a ruffle, so I searched site and found your review. Thanks for describing what worked and what didn't. That is very helpful. BTW, your blouse is gorgeous!
9/16/06 10:08 PM
PsychedOnSewing said...
I just bought this pattern and was also concerned with hemming the ruffles. I decided to sew the 3/8" staystitching, then mold by hand as if it were hand applique, tucking in the raw edge, hand basting as i go along, then stitching. I've done this before with other garments with tight curves and I think this will work with most fabrics. We'll see!
10/24/06 12:53 PM
Lanna said...
It looks like a beautiful blouse, and that itwould be great in just about any fabric.
10/28/07 2:12 PM
donna mel said...
thanks for your review! it has been many years since you wrote this, but i'm getting ready to order this pattern and sew it in chiffon, so your thoughts, and the comments, will be very useful to me.
3/27/09 10:13 AM
Scheri said...
Thank you for the heads up on the ruffle hem. I think it is beautiful. I am working on this in chiffon. Will post my results.
2/18/11 1:07 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

No Pattern Used Panties copied from RTW
photo
Review by Renren on 2/1/14
Read Review

Blank Slate Hipster Henley Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Hipster Henley Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Ruffled Halter Ruffled Halter
photo
Review by TanitIsis on 7/14/10
Read Review

The Whimsy Bag
The Whimsy Bag

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7254 Pattern
Burda 7254 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2229 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2229 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us