SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Colette Patterns> 1021 (Hazel)

20 more reviews
Viewed 412 times 
Reviewed by:SusanMenta
photo

 
 
About SusanMentastar
TX USA
Member since: 5/2/04
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/12 11:05 PM
Last Updated:9/6/12 10:21 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jstarr4250 said...
Oh to be 25 again (or 35 or 45!) and be able to pull off these adorable Colette patterns. This is beautiful on you - the piping, the back, all of it. And what creative changes you've made to the original pattern.
9/6/12 10:48 AM
RLL said...
What a cute dress. Nice job!
9/6/12 11:58 AM
sunnysewer said...
fantastic
9/6/12 2:48 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Your dress is fabulous!!! I love your "project runway" tip too. I will definitely try that sometime. BTW, daughter and I had a great time at lunch and Super Textiles last weekend!! :)
9/6/12 5:03 PM
Raye Ann said...
This is fabulous! I love the fabric and the finished dress, especially the back cutout.
9/6/12 5:17 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, this is fabulous, love the yellow piping and that fantastic fabric!!
9/6/12 8:27 PM
Scheri said...
Wow beautiful
9/7/12 1:27 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
I LOVE your version! The V neckline is super flattering, the back detail is wonderful, and the piping is such a nice additiion to your lovely fabric
9/7/12 8:58 AM
SusanMenta said...
Thanks Clare. It was good to see you too and great to meet your daughter. Next time we'll make sure we come in winter so the lack of air-conditioning won't chase us out before we've totally investigated everything that great store had to offer.
9/7/12 9:36 AM
zoe said...
Just gorgeous! I LOVE the yellow piping with that fabric. Perfect.
9/7/12 11:02 AM
aleah42 said...
Wow, I love everything about this dress!! The fabric is fantastic, the piping is just perfect (the hem might be my favorite) and your sleeve modification is a definite improvement on the pattern. Awesome!
9/8/12 5:33 PM
moonthirty said...
This is such a terrific version -- I love all of your modifications... The straps, the hem band, the piping, all of it. Beautiful job!
9/9/12 11:47 PM
Mar.Mar.Mar said...
I absolutely LOVE the mods you did on this dress. I like the way the bodice is drafted, but like you I'm not a fan of the dirndl skirt. I'm planning a border print version, but I think I'll redraft the straps into something similar to yours in the back (but with a look similar to the original in front). Thanks for the inspiration!
1/22/13 11:41 PM
Gendun said...
Gorgeous on you! Love the piping to set off the structural lines. Very nice fabric, too. :) Altogether you and it are a package. (hehe) Note to Jstarr: You could wear that! You are a beautiful woman, and at our age (yupp, me too) it's all about the fabric choice and the accessories. From your picture I think you're up to pulling off tasteful. ;)
3/28/13 2:50 PM
brynapg said...
i love this version! i made this pattern once and love it but i would like to make a version that has a bit more coverage. i am wondering if you would consider sharing the pattern piece somehow? i don't have a dress form and haven't self drafted before, so making this myself would be a bit tricky. it'd be great to see how you did this and try it myself. would you consider putting a photo of the pattern piece here or on flickr?
5/21/14 11:46 AM
Deepika said...
Susan, your dress is lovely. Fits you like a dream too. Love the shoes!
5/21/14 11:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Butterick 3833

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Buy Now