Online Sewing Class: More Knits
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1263 (Misses' Jacket)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1002 times 
Reviewed by:miausiau
photo

 
 
About miausiaustarstarstar
Member since: 4/13/11
Reviews: 134 (patterns: 115)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 17 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/8/12 10:16 PM
Last Updated:10/30/12 4:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $35.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $35.00 Pattern Details

Other Projects by miausiau using this Pattern

photophoto
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Raye Ann said... (4/10/13 5:59 PM) Reply
Thank you so much for the thorough review and especially the sizing comments. I am getting ready to make this and you have helped me.
Merche said... (10/30/12 6:32 PM) Reply
Your coat looks really beautiful. Just as well you are an expert! Sometimes I wonder what they do over in Vogue with the patterns? The ease in some of them make for two sizes smaller, some other time the pieces are not right. I buy them because I learn a lot from the instructions.
ktr2567 said... (10/8/12 10:19 AM) Reply
Oh my god, it's my dream jacket, been looking for something like this. Your workmanship is incredible and I'm just getting back into sewing after a LONG sabbatical. I'll just drool over yours for now;-)
miausiau said... (9/9/12 11:47 AM) Reply

rivergum said... (9/9/12 7:49 AM) Reply
Love the look of this jacket in taffeta. Any more pics so I can have a better look?
miausiau said... (9/9/12 0:55 AM) Reply
I definitely agree with you on the fabric suggestions, sometimes they just seem to be off. I think a linen would work nicely as well as a stable knit. Part of my decisions on fabric were made because of some bargain yardage I picked up. The picture on the envelope looks like a wool but now I believe it to be a slightly sheer cloque after closer inspection. Thanks for your input...I really enjoy hearing from other sewists!
Lhan said... (9/9/12 0:14 AM) Reply
I can't help wondering if the examples that work best in this pattern are those that use a fabric with quite a lot of drape - in spite of the fabric suggestions on the pattern. 61sew etc's plan of a 'heavy kit' seems to fit with that, and I read another review that used a similar fabric, and it seemed to result in a less frustrating and more successful outcome than your experiences. I agree with your comments about the style - very interesting and worth trying - and also that DK patterns are never simple, no matter how casual the finished garment looks! Hang in there, and do try the jacket out - you may well enjoy it more than you think. Thanks for the reviews.
61sew4fun said... (9/8/12 11:19 PM) Reply
I have this pattern and am wanting to make it in a heavy knit. Thanks for the review and I think you should just go for it and wear it. We all need a little drama in our lives! Great jacket!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 117862-1006

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
Lutterloh 2013 214

photo
by: Baja Susan...

Review
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Pattern Details