Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1263 (Misses' Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 752 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:miausiau
photo
About miausiaustarstar
NY USA
Member since: 4/13/11
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/8/12 10:16 PM
Last Updated:10/30/12 4:49 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $35.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $35.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
61sew4fun said...
I have this pattern and am wanting to make it in a heavy knit. Thanks for the review and I think you should just go for it and wear it. We all need a little drama in our lives! Great jacket!
9/8/12 11:19 PM
Lhan said...
I can't help wondering if the examples that work best in this pattern are those that use a fabric with quite a lot of drape - in spite of the fabric suggestions on the pattern. 61sew etc's plan of a 'heavy kit' seems to fit with that, and I read another review that used a similar fabric, and it seemed to result in a less frustrating and more successful outcome than your experiences. I agree with your comments about the style - very interesting and worth trying - and also that DK patterns are never simple, no matter how casual the finished garment looks! Hang in there, and do try the jacket out - you may well enjoy it more than you think. Thanks for the reviews.
9/9/12 0:14 AM
miausiau said...
I definitely agree with you on the fabric suggestions, sometimes they just seem to be off. I think a linen would work nicely as well as a stable knit. Part of my decisions on fabric were made because of some bargain yardage I picked up. The picture on the envelope looks like a wool but now I believe it to be a slightly sheer cloque after closer inspection. Thanks for your input...I really enjoy hearing from other sewists!
9/9/12 0:55 AM
rivergum said...
Love the look of this jacket in taffeta. Any more pics so I can have a better look?
9/9/12 7:49 AM
miausiau said...

9/9/12 11:47 AM
ktr2567 said...
Oh my god, it's my dream jacket, been looking for something like this. Your workmanship is incredible and I'm just getting back into sewing after a LONG sabbatical. I'll just drool over yours for now;-)
10/8/12 10:19 AM
Merche said...
Your coat looks really beautiful. Just as well you are an expert! Sometimes I wonder what they do over in Vogue with the patterns? The ease in some of them make for two sizes smaller, some other time the pieces are not right. I buy them because I learn a lot from the instructions.
10/30/12 6:32 PM
Raye Ann said...
Thank you so much for the thorough review and especially the sizing comments. I am getting ready to make this and you have helped me.
4/10/13 5:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2007-117 Blouse
photo
Review by Markie1 on 1/31/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Mango Tango Mango Tango
photo
Review by jannw on 2/28/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3830 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 3830 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2908 Pattern
Jalie 2908 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us