SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 312 (Giorgio's top)

10 more reviews
Viewed 951 times 
Reviewed by:Nancy K
photo

 
 
About Nancy Kstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 12/28/04
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 84 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/12 9:46 AM
Last Updated:9/12/12 6:17 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PattiinATL said...
Very stylish. Looks like it was worth the fitting struggles!
12/8/12 9:19 PM
grey ann said...
Very nice tops that fit well. I agree with all you say on the sizing. I was in a workshop where Peggy was asked about fitting the 'pear-shape' figure with narrow shoulders. She told us to try on more expensive blouses that would fit better! I don't think she gets it!!! The one blouse of hers that I made was huge in the shoulders. But I am going to try to fit this because I like the style.
9/14/12 9:01 PM
Dilliander said...
Lovely Nancy! I have this pattern but haven't tackled the sizing learning curve yet. Your tops are great, so must give it a go :)
9/13/12 0:05 AM
Elona said...
In spite of your difficulties with sizing, the top is seriously good looking!
9/12/12 4:17 PM
PattyE said...
I wish I could see your top better. I just made this one too. I agree the sizing is a little wonky. In fact I noticed on my pattern envelope the waist measurement was bigger than the bust measurement. I did end up having to take 3" off in the waist. I also added 2" to my sleeves. I love how it turned out but her sizing is strange. I have a couple more of her patterns so I'll see how those go. Anyway, your outfit is lovely.
9/12/12 3:52 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
I have this pattern and have been thinking about using it. I've watched several of Peggy's webcasts on tops, and she says to go down a smaller size in the shoulders and to use your french curve. (she must have been having a bad day when she spoke to you). I know her princess seams fall to the side of the bust; that's her 'design feature'; she's also spoken of this on her webcasts. But I'm like you: I prefer to have the seam run down the middle of my bust. As to pattern sizing, I wrap the fabric around me (like a towel), deciding on the visual ease I want, and measure that amount; which then becomes my designated size. I do have some issues with her bicep measurements, though. Thanks for a very informative review!
9/12/12 2:13 PM
Restart06 said...
Thanks for the review. I also have this pattern, but haven't cut it do to the size question. It looks great on you. Thanks also for the link to your blog. This will help me on my mockup. Also love your pants!
9/12/12 2:05 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I sure would love to see a close up of your new top. The picture that opens is super tiny and when I enlarge my screen it's blurry. I hope you can fix it because it looks like you have a fabulous outfit on. :-)
9/12/12 12:51 PM
Renren said...
Thanks for this review. Your top looks very nice although it's hard to see the detail in the black. I do have this pattern along with 3 others from the spring collection, and I have to say I wanted to sew this top but couldn't figure out my size from the size tables. Thanks so much for the info on sizing--it will help me figure out how to proceed. (Love those leopard pants, too!)
9/12/12 9:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Butterick 5496

photo
by: slmstyle

Review
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

More Info
Candice

Candice

More Info