Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 125587-1008 (Patagonia Island Shorts) - Type:Shorts    printable version
Viewed 221 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 221
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 66 people
patterns reviewed: 218
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/14/12 7:45 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dilliander said...
These look fabulous, you are an ace with pants and shorts! I've been enjoying your reviews of the many lovely and beautifully sewn versions.
9/14/12 9:34 PM
wildbluestarz said...
I LOVE these shorts!!!! They are my perfect always on the lookout for style. Not too long, not too short in the leg and not too high or too low a waist.
9/14/12 9:45 PM
Mazzygirl said...
an excellent knock-off! well done!
9/14/12 11:03 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great looking pair of shorts! So professional.
9/14/12 11:04 PM
cerulean said...
Great style! The really look great! The fabric choice is great too!
9/15/12 0:49 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Love these shorts - they look just like the inspiration and I am interested to find some linen rayon blend. - sounds lovely!
9/15/12 2:40 AM
jannw said...
Great shorts and a lovely fabric!! The waistband tabs were worth it!! That and the buttons adds a great detail!! have fun hiking in them
9/15/12 6:32 AM
JEF said...
Wow, these are gorgeous. I often skimp/simplify details but clearly I need to cut that out. The details on these shorts just make them wonderful.
9/15/12 7:16 AM
1SewSweet said...
These shorts are THE cutest shorts ever! Perfect length, fit, everything! Great job!
9/15/12 8:19 AM
Renren said...
Meticulously done! Sorry about the pain of turning those loops but . . .yep, it was worth it, especially with that rivet decorating the angled v-turn. It was also worth redoing the cuffs and making the pocket templates. Everything was worth it because you've achieved perfection in this project! (Plus you are standing in front of a babbling creek which I hope is fed by meltwater from winter snows, because that probably means you are hiking at a higher elevation . . . and hiking at higher elevations--within limits, of course--is always GOOD!!!)
9/15/12 10:12 AM
QuikSew said...
I love these shorts!! I especially like the belt loops and tabs at the bottom. These, I would wear--a LOT!
9/15/12 10:20 AM
Sharonspils said...
Fantastic shorts, they look so good. Invest in a Fast Turn Tube Set and those narrow belt loops will be a dream to make.
9/15/12 6:28 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice, and an impressive effort. Thanks for your comment on linen-rayon blend. I've found cotton-linen disappointing but now I feel like giving linen-rayon a go. To make belt loops, I cut against the selvedge so that one edge is selvedge and one is raw fabric. Then I fold the raw edge in and the selvedge edge on top of that, then stitch. The result is a neat finish, and no turning!
9/15/12 8:04 PM
Margaret said...
Great shorts! Love all the details! The belt loops look very nice!
9/16/12 8:16 AM
dawn so cal said...
They are awesome!
9/16/12 9:38 AM
Mel.J said...
Wow. You are amazing at getting the look you want.
9/16/12 9:50 AM
velosewer said...
Wow. These are amazing!
9/17/12 5:45 AM
Levone said...
Fantastic looking shorts!
9/17/12 3:00 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Very good-looking shorts with great details. Yes, the details are a pain to do, but they make all the difference. Belt loops: use Freya's selvage trick or just cut a length of fabric and serge one edge. Fold the fabric in thirds and top stitch. MUCH easier than turning a narrow tube, less bulky, and it mimics RTW.
9/27/12 6:57 AM
Baja Susana said...
You did a wonderful job with those shorts, they look better than the ones you knocked off! Good work!
10/4/12 4:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Kwik Sew 3504 Men's Jeans
photo
Review by SarahSM on 11/1/07
Read Review

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8185
photo
Review by FuzzyNavel... on 6/19/07
Read Review

Petite Plus 651 Pattern
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5020 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 5020 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6736 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6736 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us