SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 125587-1008 (Patagonia Island Shorts)

Viewed 226 times 
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 229
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 226
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/14/12 7:45 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dilliander said...
These look fabulous, you are an ace with pants and shorts! I've been enjoying your reviews of the many lovely and beautifully sewn versions.
9/14/12 9:34 PM
wildbluestarz said...
I LOVE these shorts!!!! They are my perfect always on the lookout for style. Not too long, not too short in the leg and not too high or too low a waist.
9/14/12 9:45 PM
Mazzygirl said...
an excellent knock-off! well done!
9/14/12 11:03 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great looking pair of shorts! So professional.
9/14/12 11:04 PM
cerulean said...
Great style! The really look great! The fabric choice is great too!
9/15/12 0:49 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Love these shorts - they look just like the inspiration and I am interested to find some linen rayon blend. - sounds lovely!
9/15/12 2:40 AM
jannw said...
Great shorts and a lovely fabric!! The waistband tabs were worth it!! That and the buttons adds a great detail!! have fun hiking in them
9/15/12 6:32 AM
JEF said...
Wow, these are gorgeous. I often skimp/simplify details but clearly I need to cut that out. The details on these shorts just make them wonderful.
9/15/12 7:16 AM
1SewSweet said...
These shorts are THE cutest shorts ever! Perfect length, fit, everything! Great job!
9/15/12 8:19 AM
Renren said...
Meticulously done! Sorry about the pain of turning those loops but . . .yep, it was worth it, especially with that rivet decorating the angled v-turn. It was also worth redoing the cuffs and making the pocket templates. Everything was worth it because you've achieved perfection in this project! (Plus you are standing in front of a babbling creek which I hope is fed by meltwater from winter snows, because that probably means you are hiking at a higher elevation . . . and hiking at higher elevations--within limits, of course--is always GOOD!!!)
9/15/12 10:12 AM
QuikSew said...
I love these shorts!! I especially like the belt loops and tabs at the bottom. These, I would wear--a LOT!
9/15/12 10:20 AM
Sharonspils said...
Fantastic shorts, they look so good. Invest in a Fast Turn Tube Set and those narrow belt loops will be a dream to make.
9/15/12 6:28 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice, and an impressive effort. Thanks for your comment on linen-rayon blend. I've found cotton-linen disappointing but now I feel like giving linen-rayon a go. To make belt loops, I cut against the selvedge so that one edge is selvedge and one is raw fabric. Then I fold the raw edge in and the selvedge edge on top of that, then stitch. The result is a neat finish, and no turning!
9/15/12 8:04 PM
Margaret said...
Great shorts! Love all the details! The belt loops look very nice!
9/16/12 8:16 AM
dawn so cal said...
They are awesome!
9/16/12 9:38 AM
Mel.J said...
Wow. You are amazing at getting the look you want.
9/16/12 9:50 AM
velosewer said...
Wow. These are amazing!
9/17/12 5:45 AM
Levone said...
Fantastic looking shorts!
9/17/12 3:00 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Very good-looking shorts with great details. Yes, the details are a pain to do, but they make all the difference. Belt loops: use Freya's selvage trick or just cut a length of fabric and serge one edge. Fold the fabric in thirds and top stitch. MUCH easier than turning a narrow tube, less bulky, and it mimics RTW.
9/27/12 6:57 AM
Baja Susana said...
You did a wonderful job with those shorts, they look better than the ones you knocked off! Good work!
10/4/12 4:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 4020

photo
by: LonestarLa...

Review
Simplicity 3684

photo
by: MadeByMeg

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now