SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6604 (Misses' Tops)

12 more reviews
Viewed 569 times 
Reviewed by:ArtAttack
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ArtAttackstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/11
Reviews written: 160
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 152
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/15/12 8:40 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Thanks for the review - have this pattern but so far have not been very motivated to use - will keep your comments in mind if I ever get to it - love your pose
9/16/12 12:01 PM
ArtAttack said...
Thanks for the comments everyone. Several of you have mentioned the fabric making a difference in the collar being more prominant but I don't think that would matter. My fabric, although sheer, is very crisp and I used a mid-weight interfacting with body. The collar is just tiny, too small to offset the effect of a large cowl. Some crafty person out there could probably enlarge it but it won't be me! Thanks again for the input...
9/16/12 11:25 AM
Wino said...
Thanks! This is in my stash-I wonder if a crisper fabric would help with the collar issues?
9/16/12 9:14 AM
cocosloft said...
Thanks for the review, good comments! And I do love your model pose!
9/16/12 8:51 AM
QuikSew said...
I keep having trouble with cowl neck patterns. The cowls seem goofy. Thanks for posting the review anyway; I will steer clear of another cowl dud.
9/16/12 6:47 AM
velosewer said...
I do understand the 'fake smile'. Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I was also checking this out, but I won't now. I appreciate your efforts.
9/16/12 3:13 AM
pdiddly said...
lucky you muslined the top first, however, despite the collar problem, I like the effect. Could you make it without the collar? cute/funny poses
9/16/12 2:31 AM
joycea said...
I often steer away from cowl collars due to the issues you mentioned. Could some of the problem be the fabric? I have though sewn some things from a Sandra Benzina pattern and it looked exactly like the pic but somehow it just didn't look right on me...very frustrating when you spend the money and the time.
9/16/12 0:24 AM
SewWil said...
Thanks for taking the time to review this. I've been eyeing this pattern but will pass on it based on your review. I like the "fake smile" picture.
9/15/12 10:18 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
I really like the sheer fabric and your red jeans peeking through. Too bad it did not turn out like you wanted. Thanks for putting this in the data base anyway. :)
9/15/12 9:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

More Info
Simplicity 1795

photo
by: norsk

Review