SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 2733 (Dress)

Viewed 1012 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 195
Favored by: 89 people
patterns reviewed: 185
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/21/12 5:30 PM
Last Updated:9/27/12 6:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Amanda.Claire said...
Gorgeous! Lots of work and thoughtfulness went into this. Great work!!
9/21/12 5:40 PM
karen n said...
Oh my gosh that is perfect on you! I really like the front vent and think it adds a neat design twist. Very flattering on you.
9/21/12 5:52 PM
Jrhee said...
Beautiful dress on you. I love all the details!
9/21/12 6:35 PM
Re Becca said...
Gorgeous! Totally perfect fit! I have this cut out and I agree wiht you about the neckline looking wide. As the pattern is, the inner edge of the neckline lines up with the bust point so it will be need to be altered on most people.
9/21/12 7:31 PM
miausiau said...
This is very flattering. I suppose the front slit could be converted to a pleat or an inset in the back with pleating that mimics the detail on front...just some ideas for the malfunction issue. You've done a beautiful job.
9/21/12 8:54 PM
sewin said...
Love this dress on you. So elegant.
9/21/12 9:37 PM
marymary86 said...
I'm in awe of your sewing skills and your ability to choose a pattern that flatters you so well.
9/21/12 11:12 PM
JEF said...
Wow, lovely dress.
9/22/12 6:29 AM
cleverkitty said...
Gorgeous dress!!!! The fit is perfect.
9/22/12 8:36 AM
lilikats said...
I have had my eye on this dress in the Marfy design book. Looks fabulous on you, definitely worth the work you put in!
9/22/12 9:10 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Gorgeous! Your dress looks amazing and fits you perfectly. I can't wait to see your next versions of it
9/22/12 9:34 AM
redside said...
Beautiful neckline!
9/22/12 10:08 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress! Fits you perfectly.
9/22/12 11:47 AM
Levone said...
Excellent review and beautiful dress! It looks wonderful on you.
9/22/12 12:22 PM
dresscode said...
If you google "Gladson Limited" there is interesting info about that textile company.
9/22/12 4:38 PM
lamstu said...
All the fitting was worth it - what a wonderful dress. And the style is very flattering for you too.
9/22/12 8:39 PM
Susan C said...
You look stunning in this dress! Nice work!
9/23/12 6:01 PM
tsedai said...
Wow! This looks amazing.
9/24/12 2:51 PM
miausiau said...
Great follow up...just gorgeous!
9/27/12 8:16 PM
FreyaStark said...
Two very chic dresses; the purple is my favourite. Your work is impressive. I think you should upgrade your skill level to Advanced.
9/27/12 10:35 PM
Immelu said...
Wow, that looks fantastic! Both versions!!!
9/27/12 11:14 PM
petro said...
Lovely dress! Everything perfect.
9/28/12 2:07 AM
Sewtox said...
Absolutely lovely.
9/28/12 5:19 AM
KathleenS said...
Great dress!
9/28/12 6:14 AM
Re Becca said...
Even more stunning than the first! I have to ask, how did you make the center front seam disapear? Did you tak it completely out of the body and only have the pleating in the top overlay?
9/28/12 10:37 AM
cindyann said...
The fit is just perfection!
9/28/12 12:30 PM
clothingengineer said...
Re Becca - the front seam is still there, but for some reason it doesn't show well in the photo. If you zoom in you can very faintly see it below the bust.
9/28/12 1:22 PM
Clareew said...
Your dress is so beautiful. The fit especially on the back, is to die for. Well done.
9/28/12 3:14 PM
AuntieShel said...
Stunning dress, meticulous fit!!
9/28/12 9:07 PM
velosewer said...
Both versions are wonderful. Great dresses and thoughtful review.
9/28/12 9:33 PM
Scheri said...
What a great review? Both dresses are beautiful.
9/29/12 3:38 AM
Oh2Sew2 said...
The dress is beautiful, the color is amazing!
9/29/12 11:12 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Lovely colour, style and fit on you, a TNT for sure
10/1/12 7:40 AM
sewnotwork said...
How do you do a broad back adjustment and a narrow shoulder adjustment? I have the same problem!
10/24/12 0:01 AM
clothingengineer said...
sewnotwork - I ended up not needing the narrow shoulder adjustment so I'm not sure if how I did it is "correct". I did my broad back adjustment 1/2 way down the back armscye, and just continued sloping the line inward for the narrow shoulders. I admit I just draw the line freehand. Maybe this drawing better explains it: https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/QdxoYfNnfy0mforc1OcNI3YdrcV4ASRU1WknBYx_9eM?feat=directlink
10/24/12 8:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Silhouette Patterns 112

photo
by: ssssdeb

Review
Other 3HP000000

photo
by: The Dreams...

Review
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Buy Now