Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6968 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1172 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:prostheticsgirl
photo
About prostheticsgirlstar
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/12
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/12 8:28 PM
Last Updated:1/2/13 11:08 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
What a great looking dress!
10/26/12 9:39 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Very pretty. I love the fabric and your neckline options, especially the knotted one.
10/26/12 10:04 PM
Nan Kay said...
Lovely dress, it fits beautifully! Can't see the bodice crease so it must not show much!
10/26/12 10:30 PM
julibchickadee said...
I think that it looks really good! I really love the bow at the collar too, it's perfect!
10/26/12 10:57 PM
ArtAttack said...
Great dress...very retro, and especially love your circle pin! Re: the creasing, have you ever measured yourself by the Palmer Pletsch method across the bust from the creases right at your armpit/chest? Their method gives you the pattern size you need for your shoulders/chest which is the hardest to alter. You can fit the rest of it around you. Just a thought, maybe you need a pattern size smaller for the chest/shoulder area and then fit bust/waist/hips, etc. according to that. Just a thought. Adorable dress!
10/27/12 0:23 AM
SewWil said...
Your dress turned out great! I don't see any issues with creasing.
10/27/12 1:52 AM
1SewSweet said...
I agree with everyone else here...the dress fits beautifully! Sometime the perfectionist in us sewers comes out and we stress about things we should not! You have a great dress with a great fit!
10/27/12 7:15 AM
JEF said...
Very pretty dress. Very classy.
10/27/12 9:17 AM
NC Carol said...
Lovely dress! It's retro and modern at the same time. And a circle pin? Fab!
10/27/12 10:15 AM
lauraborealis said...
I've discounted this pattern because of the picture on the envelope... yours looks so much better!
10/29/12 1:50 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Thanks! I passed by this pattern so many time too until seeing so many wonderful reviews here on PR. I think all versions here are much better than the pattern envelope. Some of my favorite patterns are ones that I never noticed until seeing others amazing results
10/29/12 3:51 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
ArtAttack, for some reason I've never read the Palmer/Pletsch book, but based on your recommendation, I just requested it from the library. I think the dress looks better in person and the picture angles and flash seem to exaggerate the fit issues. This is kind of good though, because hopefully it will help with the diagnoses. To me it appears to wide? across the front between the shoulders and maybe a little narrow in the back across the shoulder blades (or is there inadequate fullness in the sleeve bicep), or maybe my armpits are just eating the sleeves? I've been sewing for years, but advanced fitting is new to me. I've recently lost some weight so my figure isn't as "balanced" as it once was
10/30/12 11:42 AM
ArtAttack said...
That's great...I think you will find it an interesting and insightful process. The thing about this particular measurement is that it doesn't change even if your weight fluctuates. I ended up working through the book and making McCall's fitting shell pattern #2718 and it was very helpful. You might check out the review of it that I did. If you happen to find yourself a size 12 I have an un-used copy of that pattern you are welcome to have. It sounds like you will be in a smaller size, though. Once you delve into it the fitting process can become sort of addictive...good luck!
10/30/12 12:43 PM
sugarduck said...
This dress is adorable! I like the modification you made to the collar tie (it looks really nice knotted like in the last photo), and the longer sleeves really pull the whole look together. Great job!
10/30/12 1:36 PM
imsewcrazy said...
I love this dress! Your modification looks great! The dress fits you beautifully. The fabric is perfect for this pattern. You make me want to pull this pattern out and try it again.
10/30/12 3:48 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Imsewcrazy, that means a lot because I really liked both your versions and your Vogue 8765 inspired me to buy that pattern!
10/30/12 4:28 PM
Claverie said...
Nicely done. Looks expensive.
10/30/12 5:14 PM
godesscpsmom said...
prostheticsgirl, I love this dress. I see that you lower and lengthened the collar. Any idea how long? You seem to have the right length with it being too long. I would love if you would share that modification. So, inspiring!
10/30/12 10:10 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Thanks Godesscpsmom, I'll try and get some measurements and pictures and post them for you
10/31/12 7:07 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Love this! Gorgeous! Gorgeous on you!
11/24/12 8:22 PM
ak21 said...
another show stopper! wonderful dress & i particularly love your brooch.
12/28/12 8:56 AM
jlg said...
This dress is adorable. It looks beautifully made.
1/2/13 12:27 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Godesscpsmom, I posted the neckline and tie changes for you above. Sorry for the delay!
1/2/13 2:25 PM
usbeckers said...
Very nice. Great review too. Thanks :)
1/2/13 6:11 PM
norie creates said...
Beautiful dress and the fit looks perfect!
1/2/13 6:20 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Very nice on you! Thanks for the great review.
1/3/13 6:55 AM
Karen Carr said...
I've just bought this pattern and was so pleased to see your review. Thanks for some helpful tips and it looks great!
1/5/13 12:44 PM
charid dawn said...
That fabric and color was a beautiful choice. Looks expensive, very nice collar details and that pin!! Good job.
1/9/13 7:24 PM
Adaire said...
Great, detailed review.
12/22/13 7:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 2536
photo
Review by Oceanpeg on 8/11/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Winter PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Winter PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

brerrabbit.com Go To Pattern's
photo
Review by AlyssaJS on 7/6/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2895 Pattern ( Size 46-48-50-52 )
Simplicity 2895 Pattern ( Size 46-48-50-52 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1346 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 1346 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us