SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6400 (Misses' Tops)

16 more reviews
Viewed 417 times 
Reviewed by:Sew tell me
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sew tell mestarstar
Member since: 2/10/09
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/29/12 11:42 AM
Last Updated:10/7/14 0:59 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Project Photo:McCall's: 6400 by Sew tell me

Pattern Photo:McCall's 6400
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Tops    Plus    
Fabric:Metallic Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: MISSES' TOPS: Close Fitting (doesn't that just say it all).

Pattern Sizing: Y(XSmall-Small-Medium), ZZ(Large-XLarge-XXLarge)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Didn't even use them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

Fabric Used: A metallic knit

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I am quite busty so I made the XXL which is supposedly a size 24-26 AND added about an inch to the side seams.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Not.So.Much. Other people have had success with it and it is cute so give it a try.

Conclusion: This is a cute top that works up quickly BUT, it seems rather odd that a top of this style would be drafted as "close fitting". Additionally, I don't think it's drafted true to size as it seems to run kind of small. You can see more pics Here
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtofit said...
Oooo!! nice... I made this in a basic rayon jersey, now I know I want to make it in something holiday. Really nice fabric choice.
10/8/14 4:48 PM
Nessa09 said...
Very nice!!
10/7/14 11:18 PM
lao0264 said...
Love your fabric selection on this! Beautiful!
10/7/14 2:18 PM
Levone said...
Cute top!
10/7/14 1:36 PM
Sheenagh said...
Very pretty!
10/7/14 9:47 AM
Jrhee said...
Pretty top and fabric!
10/7/14 9:12 AM
norie creates said...
Gorgeous and love the color!
10/1/12 2:12 PM
mesewlot said...
Beautiful top! I have this pattern and a couple of pieces of knit, just not sure which one I want to use, lol! Thanks for the heads up about the sizing.
9/29/12 10:20 PM
loti said...
Love the sparkles, very festive.
9/29/12 1:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Vogue Patterns 9949 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Buy Now
Burda 7790

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review