SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7937 (Misses Skirts)

33 more reviews
Viewed 1542 times 
Reviewed by:Shona
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Shonastar
BC CANADA
Member since: 11/9/02
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/05 10:12 PM
Last Updated:1/21/05 10:12 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PegL said...
Pretty skirt Shona! Informative review too. I find it really frustrating that so many patterns have notches that don't correspond to any others! It leaves me scratching my head in confusion! LOL
1/21/05 11:08 PM
zoezmommy said...
Great review! I have this pattern and your comments will be particularly useful when I use it! Thanks.
1/22/05 4:36 AM
jlg said...
Your skirt looks very nice. Very helpful review.
1/22/05 5:13 AM
VtMartha said...
Lovely skirt and a great review, Shona. I have a larger waist to hip ratio than the 'model' figure. I'm wondering how much I can ease into an elastic waistband (thus eliminating the zipper) and still have it look tailored. Without the zip it seems like you could adjust the length (and front to back balance) at the waist. Does this make sense? Thanks for posting.
1/22/05 7:24 AM
mag said...
Thank you for your review. I also recently acquired this pattern and would like to try the style with the pleats in the back. I never thought of using the imitation suede for this; clever idea. The back of the skirt is sultry. (I wonder if I could get away with wearing something like that to work.)
1/22/05 8:17 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a beautiful skirt. I love the detail in the back.
1/22/05 9:16 AM
Shona said...
Martha, interesting idea but the many pieces are shaped so you would have to recut all of them, particularly the front ones, to eliminate the hip curve. That could be a little tedious.... mag, I wore mine to work with a matching jacket.
1/22/05 10:40 AM
AnneM said...
I have this one on my wish list already. I like it. Thanks for all the information.
1/22/05 10:50 AM
Maija said...
Thanks for the review - I have this pattern cut out and ready to sew, so it's great to know all this ahead of time.
1/22/05 11:07 AM
Koushite said...
I'm so glad you reviewed this skirt and especially view D! I've been looking at the pattern for weeks and just ordered it yesterday. I'm planning to make it in a wool crepe and pair it with one of the newer shorter jacket patterns. I think it'll make a nice dress suit -- perhaps for a special occasion due to that fancy draped back on view D.
1/22/05 2:56 PM
SandraB said...
What a lovely skirt.
1/22/05 7:49 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Your skirt looks very nice. I have been considering this pattern. thanks for the helpful review.
1/23/05 12:58 PM
KiwiWendy said...
Love your suede skirt. I rushed out & bought this pattern on the Sunday, after seeing it on Saturday. The person who made it had piped all the back seams and it was wonderful. Not so happy to hear that everyone has found the waist to be too big, cos taking it in is one of my standard alterations.
6/25/07 9:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Self Drafted Pattern Grey Lady Dress

photo
by: julliams

Review
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Buy Now