Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7937 (Misses Skirts) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1537 times 33 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Shona
photo
Friend of PR
About Shonastar
BC CANADA
Member since: 11/9/02
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/05 10:12 PM
Last Updated:1/21/05 10:12 PM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PegL said...
Pretty skirt Shona! Informative review too. I find it really frustrating that so many patterns have notches that don't correspond to any others! It leaves me scratching my head in confusion! LOL
1/21/05 11:08 PM
zoezmommy said...
Great review! I have this pattern and your comments will be particularly useful when I use it! Thanks.
1/22/05 4:36 AM
jlg said...
Your skirt looks very nice. Very helpful review.
1/22/05 5:13 AM
VtMartha said...
Lovely skirt and a great review, Shona. I have a larger waist to hip ratio than the 'model' figure. I'm wondering how much I can ease into an elastic waistband (thus eliminating the zipper) and still have it look tailored. Without the zip it seems like you could adjust the length (and front to back balance) at the waist. Does this make sense? Thanks for posting.
1/22/05 7:24 AM
mag said...
Thank you for your review. I also recently acquired this pattern and would like to try the style with the pleats in the back. I never thought of using the imitation suede for this; clever idea. The back of the skirt is sultry. (I wonder if I could get away with wearing something like that to work.)
1/22/05 8:17 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a beautiful skirt. I love the detail in the back.
1/22/05 9:16 AM
Shona said...
Martha, interesting idea but the many pieces are shaped so you would have to recut all of them, particularly the front ones, to eliminate the hip curve. That could be a little tedious.... mag, I wore mine to work with a matching jacket.
1/22/05 10:40 AM
AnneM said...
I have this one on my wish list already. I like it. Thanks for all the information.
1/22/05 10:50 AM
Maija said...
Thanks for the review - I have this pattern cut out and ready to sew, so it's great to know all this ahead of time.
1/22/05 11:07 AM
Koushite said...
I'm so glad you reviewed this skirt and especially view D! I've been looking at the pattern for weeks and just ordered it yesterday. I'm planning to make it in a wool crepe and pair it with one of the newer shorter jacket patterns. I think it'll make a nice dress suit -- perhaps for a special occasion due to that fancy draped back on view D.
1/22/05 2:56 PM
SandraB said...
What a lovely skirt.
1/22/05 7:49 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Your skirt looks very nice. I have been considering this pattern. thanks for the helpful review.
1/23/05 12:58 PM
KiwiWendy said...
Love your suede skirt. I rushed out & bought this pattern on the Sunday, after seeing it on Saturday. The person who made it had piped all the back seams and it was wonderful. Not so happy to hear that everyone has found the waist to be too big, cos taking it in is one of my standard alterations.
6/25/07 9:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

StyleArc Diana Top Diana Top
photo
Review by GoodbyeVal... on 4/6/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3768 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3768 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )
McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-117 Ring Top #117
photo
Review by Nata on 2/11/06
Read Review

Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $22.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us