SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5814 (Misses Dress)

8 more reviews
Viewed 753 times 
Reviewed by:LizJaneB
photo

 
 
About LizJaneBstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/12/12
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/7/12 4:01 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LizJaneB said...
Hi, Sorry only just spotted your question about the Butterick dress I made (red/black spots). I'm an intermediate stitcher and while I didn't find this pattern hard it is time consuming. I spent time hand basting the underlining, hand basting the pleats and so on. If you mark the fabric well it's not that hard. Gertie has started a sewalong on her blog which would help greatly. I found there were some fit issues and her advice would be invaluable. She also recommends using something with more drape than taffeta - the pattern recommends it but Gertie herself doesn't. Hope this helps! Lizzy
12/8/12 5:16 AM
Shira88 said...
Looks great! Is it really not that hard to make? I consider myself an "advanced beginner" and haven't had any experience with boning, plus those pleats across the bodice look a little intimidating. On a scale of 1 to 5, how hard (or easy) would you say this pattern is? (1 being very easy, 5 being hard)
11/19/12 5:11 PM
LizJaneB said...
Thanks again - every single comment has put a smile on my face
10/11/12 7:22 AM
ChristineX said...
Such an awesome dress! Gorgeous!
10/10/12 8:55 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
You look fantastic. (and I'm a huge fan of your blog)
10/8/12 9:01 PM
SewPrincess said...
Absolutely beautiful!
10/8/12 6:28 PM
LizJaneB said...
Thanks everyone :-) xx
10/8/12 4:47 PM
Nenewhis said...
Amazing, I just love it to bits!
10/8/12 1:23 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
WOW!! Your dress looks gorgeous and the fit is superb. I love your fabric choice too! The cut is incredibly flattering
10/8/12 1:15 PM
lamstu said...
Vavavoom! As a curvy girl, I can say there's no way I could wear that dress in public without a lot more coverage up top. It looks totally awesome on you though. And the inside looks lovely too.
10/8/12 9:35 AM
JEF said...
Gorgeous! I agree "smokin hot" is the best description!
10/8/12 6:46 AM
tsedai said...
Awesome!
10/8/12 1:41 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Very pretty on you, saw this pattern and it is lovely, you did it justice! Looks super!!
10/7/12 8:41 PM
nickelc624 said...
Beautiful dress...you look fantastic!
10/7/12 8:11 PM
BillieJean said...
You look smokin hot in this little number!
10/7/12 5:17 PM
Cristinagf said...
Lovely! Very pretty fabric!
10/7/12 4:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5355

photo
by: Shaptavajr...

Review