SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Japanese Pattern Books> Stylish Dress Book 1 (Dress E)

5 more reviews
Viewed 323 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 272
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 228
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/7/12 11:14 PM
Last Updated:10/9/12 10:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
petro said...
Cute, stylish dress! the shape is very current now too. In the review photo, I think this looks good on you, even though you have doubts about the suitability for your figure type.
10/8/12 4:01 AM
mm said...
It looks terrific. I love Japanese styles.
10/8/12 4:38 AM
Elke said...
Very cute dress and it looks pretty on you!
10/8/12 8:04 AM
persevering said...
Yes it is cute on you! How smart of you to keep it above the knee ... so it has a trendy look!
10/8/12 11:00 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
You look great in this dress and trimming a little of the excess away if you make it again will only improve it. I do like how it looks on you though...regardless of what your DD says....(wink)
10/8/12 2:58 PM
21wale said...
It's a lovely dress! I have a same quandary - I'm drawn to the styles, yet am disappointed in the bulk when I make them. I think I should just plan ahead of time to add darts and remove width...
10/8/12 3:23 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty dress and it really does look good on you!
10/8/12 5:49 PM
MNBarb said...
I'm laughing. I'm also drawn to this style and not flattered by it. Being a child of the 60's and 70's may have something to do with it. I love the looseness of this dress. Maybe you would like it better if you dressed it down with casual sandals and a funky necklace (think Woodstock). It's very cute.
10/10/12 7:33 AM
AuntieShel said...
Your dress is so adorable and I think it looks very cute on you. I, too, am so drawn to these patterns, have yet to make one, though! I am too big for them, but am so drawn to the aesthetic!!
10/10/12 9:18 AM
marec said...
I was surprised to read that you think this style doesn't suit you-I was thinking the exact opposite. Cute and really fun for kicking around. I love it.
10/10/12 9:29 AM
cerulean said...
It looks great! I just got this book so I am happy to see how one of the projects turns out! You did a great job!
10/10/12 2:53 PM
jennpflueger said...
HI Justine. For the life of me I can't locate the pocket placement on the front piece of this pattern. Is it marked and pointed out on the master sheet? If so, what color is it in? Any help would be super appreciated! I can guess at it, but thought I'd check first with you. :) if nothing else, how many inches from the hem seam did you place them? Also, do you remember how many inches you took off? I too, have made several japanese patterns all with larger than expected results. I've made XS and size 6 and have taken off several inches each time to get to my size. I appreciate any insight you have around the pocket placement. Thanks a bunch! :)
5/29/13 10:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Buy Now
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
McCall's 6596

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review