Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7908 (Claire Shaeffer's Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 2044 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/23/05 11:24 AM
Last Updated:1/23/05 2:59 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
VtMartha said...
MickeyFan, this is absolutely gorgeous! I have this pattern as well as the Nancy Erickson jacket to try. I haven't sewn a jacket in years!
1/23/05 12:21 PM
ChrisK said...
You have made a fantastic job of this jacket. I'm sure you will receive lots of complements when you wear it.
1/23/05 12:25 PM
Modiste Madness said...
This jacket is a wonderful reward for all your hard work. It look great.
1/23/05 12:48 PM
Nickle said...
I love browns and the contrast you did for your collar facing. At first I thought it was a wool. I bet it looks wonderful on. Very gorgeous jacket. Penny
1/23/05 12:53 PM
LisaLS said...
What a great jacket!! Sounds like it took a lot of work, but it was well worth it.
1/23/05 12:56 PM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Thanks for the review. Very nice!! I'll have to get this pattern for when my sewing skills are ready, as I could use some jackets for work.
1/23/05 1:28 PM
Eli said...
Gorgeous.... I bought this pattern for the directions only actually. I love how yours turned out and the different texture on the collar. Very smooth professional result.
1/23/05 1:44 PM
gabrielle said...
Oh, wonderful job! I have this pattern, too. Maybe someday I'll be brave enough to try it.
1/23/05 2:12 PM
kellyt said...
Wow!! That jacket is beautiful. You did an excellant job. I just purchased this pattern and I have been trying to decide what type of fabric to use. Thanks for the tips on the sleeve too.
1/23/05 2:20 PM
sewkal said...
Wow! Your jacket is stunning. Your hard work here really paid off.
1/23/05 2:29 PM
KathleenS said...
Nice jacket. I particularly like the contrast patterning on the collar, and the waist shaping. Thanks for the tip about not using the couture instructions - I have one of the Shaeffer coats and was thinking that I couldn't face the couture instructions and you've confirmed me in that decision.
1/23/05 2:46 PM
drsue said...
Really wonderful jacket. I love the collar contrast.
1/23/05 3:24 PM
AnneM said...
So, how long term was "a long term project"? You got great results. Thanks for the information in your review.
1/23/05 3:39 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely jacket. I am sure it was a long running project but results were good.
1/23/05 3:43 PM
Danvillegirl said...

1/23/05 3:45 PM
jlg said...
Beautiful jacket. Some day I'm going to try this. I bought it as soon as it came out but haven't committed yet.
1/23/05 5:06 PM
MickeyFan said...
Thank you everyone for the positive feedback. AnneM, this jacket took somewhere between 15 to 20 hours from cutting to sewing on buttons. However, the sleeves really slowed me down. I probably spent 4 hours there. had I interfaced the cap before working on them, I might have saved myself a couple of hours of basting and re-setting.
1/23/05 5:25 PM
mamakooz said...
B E A U tiful!!!
1/23/05 8:17 PM
Deepika said...
What a helpful review and what a great jacket. I just want to keep looking at it!!!
1/23/05 10:21 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review -- your jacket is absolutely beautiful! I have looked at this pattern in the book many times, but my life-style just doesn't call for anything like this! But, I can certainly admire a beautiful design, beautifully executed!
1/23/05 11:04 PM
Snowblossom said...
Wow, wonderful job! Quite an ambitious project. I know the fabric you mean; I bought some in a different color. Its actually really cool looking.
1/23/05 11:25 PM
lilhoney57 said...
Beautiful jacket!
1/24/05 8:14 AM
Nancy Anne said...
What a terrific pattern, garment and review! I'll have to put this one on my wish list.
1/24/05 8:20 AM
Dobedowawa said...
Thanx for a very helpful review .. I may get this pattern just for the constr techniques. I am about to embark on my first "properly constructed" jacket .... I shall print your review and keep it handy!
1/24/05 11:31 AM
marjenann said...
What a terrific looking jacket. Completely upscale. Your write up was extremely helpful. I have this pattern in my stash and will definitely try it now!
1/24/05 2:10 PM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! This is one beautiful jacket. I admire that nice notched collar too. Something I always shy away from because of bad notched collar experiences in high school many years ago. Great job!
1/24/05 7:18 PM
petra said...
Oh boy, I hope that my present jacket project turns out half as good. What a terrific looking jacket - love the effect on the collar. How long did it take you?
1/24/05 9:04 PM
MickeyFan said...
Ryan's mom, your comment made me chuckle. I too have a latent notched collar phobia that started with a bad experience in Home Ec. The way they were typically done then (25 years ago), you were guaranteed to have not only uneven notches, but lumps, bumps, and bubbles to boot! Petra, I am guessing this project took between 15 to 20 hours including cutting. I did take my time with though - slower than my usual pace. You might be able to move through it more quickly.
1/25/05 6:36 AM
Koushite said...
Please, please let me someday be able to sew like you! I love tailoring jackets, or shall I say the finished product -- it makes all that tediousness worthwhile. I absolutely love the hang of the sleeves on your jacket. And thanks for that info regarding the extra fabric in the sleeve cap -- I'll take it out before I even begin. Thanks again, great review and great jacket.
1/25/05 10:57 AM
StitchQueen101 said...
I LOVE IT! You really did do a nice job! Your review was really helpful,too. Even if I might not be ready to make a jacket like this,(yet), I definitely want to try using that fabric. I always enjoy a fabric savvy tip!! Thanks!
1/25/05 5:13 PM
CarolynGM said...
Wow! Great job on the jacket and fabulous review. Tailored jackets are my favorite thing to make, and I do want to make this pattern. Your review will really help me when I do.
1/25/05 6:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Burda 8807
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 2/23/04
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern
Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Relaxed Shift Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Relaxed Shift Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PR Member's Pattern Yoshimi\'s Tiered Skirt
photo
Review by jannw on 6/19/11
Read Review

McCalls 6569 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6569 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us