SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> Gertie's NBBS (Shirtwaist dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 433 times 
Reviewed by:Cashrhymes
photo

 
 
About Cashrhymes
MI USA
Member since: 12/3/11
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/6/13 9:38 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Thenikkihuff said...
I'm currently in the middle of sewing this dress and am really wishing I had taken some puffiness out of the sleeves, since the act of setting them in is currently causing much frustration. Also, I think the fabric I chose is a little bit too crispy for this dress. But your version looks really nice, good job.
3/13/13 5:51 PM
LDT2011 said...
I was thinking about sewing this pattern....but I don't want to include the shirring not sure how to eliminate it (it seemed a bit silly if you had buttons up the front to me) so its interesting you say about the 'pull'.
1/10/13 5:31 AM
Symon said...
Oh you do the same alterations I do! ^_^ FBA and waist adjustment - yours looks great on you!!! I really like the collar and sleeves; perhaps they'll grow on you :) Thanks for the tip on the shirring, too! :)
1/7/13 1:32 AM
katski said...
Your dress looks great and thanks for the tip about the shirring. This dress is currently on my sewing table and I just finished sewing the shirring tonight so we will see!
1/7/13 0:11 AM
Cashrhymes said...
KAHooke- I think what caused it to pull apart so much was the rows of elastic shirring in the back. It's very very stretchy. On my next ones I'll either use one less row of elastic, or I'll just make it not as wide in the back.
1/6/13 2:08 PM
KAHooke said...
This dress is on my January sewing list so I really appreciate the review. What do you think caused the "aggressive stretchiness" of the back?
1/6/13 12:30 PM
becca a said...
What a pretty dress! The color, the fit, the style--all so pretty!
1/6/13 11:03 AM
mnitts said...
That's looks so cute, and, dare I say, I prefer your version to gerties!!
1/6/13 10:16 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
The fit looks great in the pic, I commend you on all those alterations!
1/6/13 9:53 AM
Cashrhymes said...
That is a really smart idea! Mine didn't match up to the waist, unfortunately, but that would have made a lot more sense!
11/5/12 10:47 AM
michellep74 said...
I'm not familiar with the pocket placement for this dress, but if they're in-seam pockets in the skirt, it could be that the top is squared off so that the top part can be included in the waist seam. This technique is pretty common and helps the pockets retain their positioning while the garment is being worn.
10/19/12 3:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

No Pattern Used 0000

photo
by: fourkid

Review
McCall's 6754

photo
by: mimi g.

Review
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

More Info