SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6110 (top and leggings)

15 more reviews
Viewed 404 times 
Reviewed by:DonnaH
photo

 
 
About DonnaHstar
TX United States
Member since: 10/1/03
Reviews: 18 (patterns: 18)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/17/12 1:47 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
DonnaH said... (1/9/13 2:27 PM) Reply
Sherril - I tried to send you a PM, but it didn't work. Basically it boils down to the neck/placket. (Mine is failry modest, but there is a slight chance of it slipping and my bra strap showing. I think it would be about the samw w/ the V neck. After this first version I muslined a smaller neck (took out ~1" on either side of the back neck piece, I have narrow shoulders), but have yet to sew up a finished garment w/ the new neck size. That should happen tonight or tomorrow, since I'm doing this for OPML.
Sherril Miller said... (1/8/13 6:53 PM) Reply
This top is so cute, I love the pattern. How modest is this version? I'm trying to decide which one to make.
ktr2567 said... (12/1/12 11:07 PM) Reply
Very nice, looks really well made and so comfy!
DonnaH said... (10/19/12 1:01 PM) Reply
Thanks everyone. I love this top - can't wait for it to cool off enough so I can wear it! While writing the review I forgot to add my saga of the sleeves - since the underarm seam is about the only seam left uncovered (and it doesn't get pressed open), I got the idea to try a fake-serged edge (I don't have a serger, and had never tried using those stitches on my machine). The cuffs went on before the sleeves were attached, plus there is a seam along the sleeve, so in spite of the fact that you can't really tell the "back" of the fabric from the front, there was a "right" side. And I sewed the sleeves in inside out - and finished the edges before I realized it. Had to cut the "overlock" stitches out because they were so small.
Eva Suzanne said... (10/18/12 7:36 AM) Reply
This looks really nice & well made too
Mazzygirl said... (10/18/12 3:08 AM) Reply
I've already made several of these, mostly this version but with the longer sleeves (& tunic length) & it is so flattering! I love your version with the check fabric. It looks great!
Marie367 said... (10/17/12 9:46 PM) Reply
Very cute! It looks great!
Laurie Lou said... (10/17/12 1:58 PM) Reply
I like it! And love your button choice. Yah, once in a while you can find some super deals on fabric at WM. I love this plaid, I bet it will be very cozy in the upcoming months.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

McCall's 6442

photo
by: atomicgirl

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Pattern Details
McCall's 7014

photo
by: Carobo

Review