SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8795 (Jacket)

11 more reviews
Viewed 468 times 
Reviewed by:JillyBe
photo

 
 
About JillyBestarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/10
Reviews written: 85
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 56 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/21/12 8:42 PM
Last Updated:10/21/12 9:02 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Amanda.Claire said...
Wow, what a sewing journey! Your jacket is fabulous! I would have to wear it everywhere I went.
10/21/12 8:58 PM
ArtAttack said...
What a cute jacket...I've been wanting to bust this one open...will re-read your review and blog before I do!
10/21/12 9:29 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous jacket! I know first hand how much work it took to get such a shapely jacket. What's with the pattern drafting? :/ I was very glad when I finally finished mine, but I wear it all the time and I have (almost) forgotten the pain. :) I hope you get as much wear from yours. You did such a great job on the fit and fixing the pattern issues.
10/21/12 10:24 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful jacket! You don't look like such a tough girl even when you are posing as one ;-) Great job on the jacket.
10/21/12 10:27 PM
Sharonspils said...
Wonderful jacket and so glad you persevered with the fit as it looks fantastic.
10/21/12 11:36 PM
marec said...
This is a marvelous interpretation of Marcy's design. I love the jacket on you. Interesting that we came at this pattern so very differently and both have jackets that suit each of us :-)
10/22/12 1:04 AM
goosegreen said...
Looks fantastic!
10/22/12 2:07 AM
pdiddly said...
well worth the fitting efforts lovely looking jacket
10/22/12 3:41 AM
lilikats said...
Looks great! I have this pattern in my stash and am not brave enough to try it yet
10/22/12 4:44 AM
sfshaza said...
Fabulous, Jillian! Very often the simple shapes do require more careful fitting. You nailed it. A perfect jacket!
10/22/12 7:06 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
A tough jacket for a tough girl! Thanks for the great review and congratulations on a beautiful result!
10/22/12 7:30 AM
cindyann said...
What a cool jacket! All the changes you made to the pattern really made the fit terrific.
10/22/12 7:48 AM
Eva Suzanne said...
A great jacket!! It looks so stylish on you. Thank you for the detailed review.
10/22/12 8:05 AM
DorothyK said...
Jilly, you are so creative. This jacket is to die for. The look, especially with the MT pants, scarf, and hat are right on. You are such an inspiration. Thanks for the detailed review. I will definitely be referring to it when I make this pattern.
10/22/12 9:58 AM
carolynw said...
Absolutely fabulous jacket - all the changes you made turned out a classic jacket that looks very high end RTW. Very helpful and very detailed review. Don't know if this is a new hair style for you but I love it - you look so "together"
10/22/12 4:12 PM
JillyBe said...
Thank you so much for all of the lovely comments - they mean a lot! :D
10/23/12 6:12 AM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, this is so fabulous on you!!! I admire your perseverance and it really paid off in a beautiful jacket with a perfect fit.
10/23/12 8:35 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Fabulous! Thank you for sharing the details of your adjustments. I will definitely consider a center back seam and lowering the sleeve cap for my next versions.
1/16/13 6:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

McCall's 5269

photo
by: Victoria B

Review
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 5540

photo
by: DeJa Chic

Review