Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1159 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 503 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:piakdy
photo
Friend of PR
About piakdy
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/6/11
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/24/12 6:09 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful! And so much nicer than the pattern photo. I wouldn't have given this a second look until saw the dress you made from it.
10/24/12 7:39 PM
ArtAttack said...
Awesome! You and I love the same colors!
10/24/12 8:45 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Stunning on you. And what beautiful photography.
10/24/12 9:54 PM
cocosloft said...
Beautiful! Really different and looks stunning on you.
10/24/12 10:40 PM
Cuffs said...
Your fabric choice really shows the pleats and draping beautifully. You look gorgeous!
10/25/12 0:22 AM
Berkie said...
Wow! Your dress is more beautiful than the pattern photo.
10/25/12 6:06 AM
gernella said...
Fabulous dress but I don't think I could pull off wearing it. Need a waist for that. You look fantastic in it.
10/25/12 6:54 AM
sewin said...
This dress is gorgeous on you. Love the way the fabric drapes. Very Nice!
10/25/12 9:51 AM
piakdy said...
Thanks for the compliments! :-) I was the same about the pattern. It wasn't until I saw other reviews here that I decided to give it a go. Personally, I like patterns like this with lovely details (drapes in this case) to be in plain fabric so the details show up better. Patterns are great for interesting silhouettes, or where seaming creates interesting overall pattern design. This one I did choose the color so I can show off the drape better. BTW, I don't have much of a waist either. Or rather my smallish boob and hip make my torso look more rectangular. I think the cross-crossing drape on this one help creates an illusion of a waist. So Gernella, don't give up on this style of dresses!
10/25/12 11:12 AM
ggf2005 said...
marvelous!
10/25/12 11:29 AM
carolynw said...
Gorgeous dress - you got all the problems out of this pattern to produce a real knockout - better than the photo on the envelope!!
10/25/12 10:36 PM
eleda said...
Very Beautiful!
10/26/12 7:26 PM
Markie1 said...
Wow. That is GORGEOUS on you! Thank you for the indepth review.
10/28/12 11:00 PM
caper81 said...
Beautiful dress! I really like the orange color on you :)
11/4/12 7:22 AM
Twinset said...
Such a beautiful dress - well done!
12/6/12 11:59 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2011-13 dress 13
photo
Review by Ejegmama on 9/28/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver   S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Paula Pleat Skirt Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Paula Pleat Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6070
photo
Review by nicegirl on 6/28/11
Read Review

Vogue 8959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1192 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1192 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us