SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 78396-1010 (Skirt)

Review submitted in Challenge Contest 2012 - Refashion / Repurpose Contest
Viewed 320 times 
Reviewed by:velosewer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About velosewerstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/11/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 299
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/12 4:37 PM
Last Updated:11/11/12 6:29 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PattyE said...
Wow, what a fabulous job you did on this skirt! I'm dying to do something with leather and your tip to test with a used garment is very smart.
11/8/12 5:55 PM
ArtAttack said...
Super job! Great skirt...love the zipper!
11/8/12 6:35 PM
sewtime said...
Fantastic! So cute and love the exposed zipper!
11/8/12 8:02 PM
Sharonspils said...
Excellent skirt and the fit looks fantastic!
11/8/12 8:16 PM
Renata said...
The skirt turned out really great but together with that jacket, one sensational outfit. You really know how to put pieces together. Super well done!!
11/8/12 10:14 PM
Dilliander said...
Wonderful skirt and great combo with the jacket. You have made some lovely leather garments!
11/8/12 11:05 PM
Baja Susana said...
Nice work! I have to know, is the skirt whiffy?
11/9/12 5:42 PM
velosewer said...
Actually, I've now sprayed the skirt with Resolve and the wiffy-ness has disappeared. Thanks for asking Baja Susana. I thought the spray might affect the leather colour but it didn't. I didn't test it because I've used this spray on other upholstery and the finish wasn't affected. So I'm guessing this was actually a good piece of leather.
11/9/12 7:09 PM
barebear said...
Ooo, nice job! It's fun working with leather, eh? You have to get creative coming up with new methods for standard sewing techniques (i.e. pinning). I love how your skirt turned out, much nicer than the original garment!
11/10/12 10:08 PM
annakeeton said...
Lovely skirt and this is a super reuse of the jacket!
11/11/12 6:25 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
You are certainly getting the hang of sewing with leather. Great job!
11/11/12 8:18 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
What a great idea! Your skirt is so cute! Thanks for all of the leather resources too. I have definitely been thinking about leather these days, especially after seeing Clio's jacket.
11/11/12 8:20 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Love your 'fearlessness' ....you just jump in there and give it a whirl....and wow...what a great result!
11/14/12 4:42 AM
nancy2001 said...
What an amazing transformation! Your skirt turned out beautifully.
11/14/12 3:46 PM
lbrundage said...
I like it! Very, very sassy. Isn't re-styling such fun?
11/15/12 3:36 PM
ModCat said...
Hee hee-great review! I also would like to work with leather someday and these are great tips. Love the tip on practicing on a used piece first- I have not thought of that.
11/20/12 5:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Burda 7201

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8765

photo
by: SquishSews

Review