SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 78396-1010 (Skirt)

Review submitted in Challenge Contest 2012 - Refashion / Repurpose Contest
Viewed 320 times 
Reviewed by:velosewer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About velosewerstarstarstarstar
Australia
Member since: 11/11/06
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 314
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/12 4:37 PM
Last Updated:11/11/12 6:29 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ModCat said...
Hee hee-great review! I also would like to work with leather someday and these are great tips. Love the tip on practicing on a used piece first- I have not thought of that.
11/20/12 5:42 PM
lbrundage said...
I like it! Very, very sassy. Isn't re-styling such fun?
11/15/12 3:36 PM
nancy2001 said...
What an amazing transformation! Your skirt turned out beautifully.
11/14/12 3:46 PM
Anne Cherry said...
Love your 'fearlessness' ....you just jump in there and give it a whirl....and wow...what a great result!
11/14/12 4:42 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
What a great idea! Your skirt is so cute! Thanks for all of the leather resources too. I have definitely been thinking about leather these days, especially after seeing Clio's jacket.
11/11/12 8:20 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
You are certainly getting the hang of sewing with leather. Great job!
11/11/12 8:18 AM
annakeeton said...
Lovely skirt and this is a super reuse of the jacket!
11/11/12 6:25 AM
barebear said...
Ooo, nice job! It's fun working with leather, eh? You have to get creative coming up with new methods for standard sewing techniques (i.e. pinning). I love how your skirt turned out, much nicer than the original garment!
11/10/12 10:08 PM
velosewer said...
Actually, I've now sprayed the skirt with Resolve and the wiffy-ness has disappeared. Thanks for asking Baja Susana. I thought the spray might affect the leather colour but it didn't. I didn't test it because I've used this spray on other upholstery and the finish wasn't affected. So I'm guessing this was actually a good piece of leather.
11/9/12 7:09 PM
Baja Susana said...
Nice work! I have to know, is the skirt whiffy?
11/9/12 5:42 PM
Dilliander said...
Wonderful skirt and great combo with the jacket. You have made some lovely leather garments!
11/8/12 11:05 PM
Renata said...
The skirt turned out really great but together with that jacket, one sensational outfit. You really know how to put pieces together. Super well done!!
11/8/12 10:14 PM
Sharonspils said...
Excellent skirt and the fit looks fantastic!
11/8/12 8:16 PM
sewtime said...
Fantastic! So cute and love the exposed zipper!
11/8/12 8:02 PM
ArtAttack said...
Super job! Great skirt...love the zipper!
11/8/12 6:35 PM
PattyE said...
Wow, what a fabulous job you did on this skirt! I'm dying to do something with leather and your tip to test with a used garment is very smart.
11/8/12 5:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

McCall's 6360

photo
by: Legal.Deal...

Review
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

More Info
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

More Info
Vogue Patterns 8663

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review