Online Sewing Class: Altering Jackets
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Scarves (Scrappy Ends Scarf)

4 more reviews
Review submitted in Challenge Contest 2012 - Refashion / Repurpose Contest
Viewed 103 times 
Reviewed by:Tina Rathbone
photo

 
 
About Tina Rathbonestar
CA USA
Member since: 9/16/02
Reviews: 20 (patterns: 13)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:11/15/12 1:23 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
barebear said... (11/25/12 7:39 PM) Reply
This is an incredible scarf! Very creative use for all of your scraps.
Tina Rathbone said... (11/17/12 8:25 PM) Reply
Thanks, JEF. SewPelican, I used Superior Threads' Rainbow, variegated, in a random up, down, and diagonal free-motion stitching. I tried to hit all the strips but without over stitching to make it stiff. Rainbow's a poly, which I generally avoid, but this one's super high-quality. I heart Superior Threads!
sewpelican said... (11/17/12 8:17 AM) Reply
I love how you used up even skinny leftover scraps. What type of thread did you use and what stitches did you choose?
JEF said... (11/16/12 9:13 PM) Reply
Agree it's cute - so colorful and pretty.
Tina Rathbone said... (11/15/12 1:36 PM) Reply
Thanks, Sherril. A rotary cutter will do the job. Marlene, thanks for your Wow-some response! The strips vary: some are just 1/8" wide tapering to nothing. With stabilizer top and bottom, like a sandwich, you can basically do what you want as long as you stitch it enough (lengthwise and crosswise).
Marlene J said... (11/15/12 1:08 PM) Reply
WOW! Really cute! I'm going to give it a try. It's just so colorful. WAY better than all of the browns & blacks I'm seeing out there for winter. Are the strips about 3/8" wide? .
Sherril Miller said... (11/15/12 2:10 AM) Reply
That turned out really cute. I don't keep scraps, but I have fabric and a rotary cutter. Thanks for the idea.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Simplicity 5052

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
McCall's 6243

photo
by: 1SewSweet

Review
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Pattern Details
Runaround Bag Paper Pattern

Runaround Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details