Online Sewing Class: Understanding Knit Fabrics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Scarves (Scrappy Ends Scarf)

4 more reviews
Review submitted in Challenge Contest 2012 - Refashion / Repurpose Contest
Viewed 103 times 
Reviewed by:Tina Rathbone
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Tina Rathbonestar
CA USA
Member since: 9/16/02
Reviews: 20 (patterns: 13)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:11/15/12 1:23 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Just Make it Sew


Quality Fashion Fabrics
Deals!

Home Sewing Depot


Home Dec Sewing Supplies
Deals!

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
barebear said... (11/25/12 7:39 PM) Reply
This is an incredible scarf! Very creative use for all of your scraps.
Tina Rathbone said... (11/17/12 8:25 PM) Reply
Thanks, JEF. SewPelican, I used Superior Threads' Rainbow, variegated, in a random up, down, and diagonal free-motion stitching. I tried to hit all the strips but without over stitching to make it stiff. Rainbow's a poly, which I generally avoid, but this one's super high-quality. I heart Superior Threads!
sewpelican said... (11/17/12 8:17 AM) Reply
I love how you used up even skinny leftover scraps. What type of thread did you use and what stitches did you choose?
JEF said... (11/16/12 9:13 PM) Reply
Agree it's cute - so colorful and pretty.
Tina Rathbone said... (11/15/12 1:36 PM) Reply
Thanks, Sherril. A rotary cutter will do the job. Marlene, thanks for your Wow-some response! The strips vary: some are just 1/8" wide tapering to nothing. With stabilizer top and bottom, like a sandwich, you can basically do what you want as long as you stitch it enough (lengthwise and crosswise).
Marlene J said... (11/15/12 1:08 PM) Reply
WOW! Really cute! I'm going to give it a try. It's just so colorful. WAY better than all of the browns & blacks I'm seeing out there for winter. Are the strips about 3/8" wide? .
Sherril Miller said... (11/15/12 2:10 AM) Reply
That turned out really cute. I don't keep scraps, but I have fabric and a rotary cutter. Thanks for the idea.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 2880

photo
by: Terri A

Review
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Paper Pattern

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
McCall's 6656

photo
by: SewSoozi

Review