SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 82155-1005 

Viewed 250 times 
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo

 
 
About rivergumstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/16/12 11:16 PM
Last Updated:11/17/12 3:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wendyrb said...
What a beautiful classic Grecian drape! You figured out your inspiration will, and with the right bottom piece, the proportion will be perfecto. You've got to come up with a few bottoms that complement it for color and shape. Do you wear slim skirts to the ankle? You'll need some kind of opening or wrap for walking ease. Maybe in an earth tone- a deep olive or black with matching hosiery and shoes. I'd go for a heel. In the photo, the sheer fabric, says to me a camisole underneath is something to consider. Great result!
11/16/12 11:56 PM
Dilliander said...
Wonderful top, you did a great job interpreting the RTW inspiration, the draping is lovely.
11/17/12 0:08 AM
rivergum said...
Oops, I forgot to mention that a photo flash will give you X-ray vision if a fabric is the slightest bit sheer. Not a problem in real life, thank goodness. And a slim maxi skirt would be ideal. I have a black one but can easily make one in another colour.
11/17/12 0:09 AM
julie w said...
So clever love it, you did a great job of interpreting the inspiration.
11/17/12 6:31 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
So dramatic--love the beautiful drape and your pendant is perfect with this.
11/17/12 6:38 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
So dramatic--love the beautiful drape and your pendant is perfect with this.
11/17/12 6:38 AM
Fran G said...
Stunning! The fabric is awesome...these thin drapey fabrics used in a simple design can be so tricky to manage. Brava!
11/17/12 8:21 AM
elizajo said...
You are so clever to have figured out how to make this from the shonmodern picture. Love it with the skirt-- I happen to be a brown and black fan, so I would wear it as is. Maybe break into the piggy bank to buy some of the Trippen shoes to go with it!
11/17/12 10:29 AM
miausiau said...
Looks fab with the narrow skirt...great design idea with many more possibilities. Keep them coming!
11/17/12 5:00 PM
wendyrb said...
Now with that slim black maxi, you look even more like a goddess! Thanks for going the extra steps of changing out the beige pants. It's instructive to see the new look itself and then letting us see the comparison. Wowser! Which is not to say I don't like the beige full pants. Do you have a good companion for them?
11/17/12 10:11 PM
rivergum said...
Wendy, they are another pair of beach pants I haven't worn much and I think they will be made into harems too. Just need to figure out if I just put elastic in the hems or do something a bit more interesting. They will look fine with a tunic to knee level or longer.
11/18/12 1:53 PM
jenleeC said...
What a perfect style choice for the fabric - it really takes wonderful advantage of the drape. The whole outfit, with the long slim skirt and boots, looks terrific.
11/18/12 10:35 PM
cocosloft said...
Love love this top and styling options. would wear it with slim maxi all the way to the floor. and white wide leg pants also to the floor. beautiful.
11/18/12 10:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2012-140

photo
by: petro

Review
Vogue Patterns 1042

photo
by: jent

Review
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Buy Now