Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
StyleArc: Hepburn Riding Skirt (Hepburn Riding Skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 306 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/12 5:00 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Hi ClaireEmily! It is so frustrating to put a lot of effort into a project and be not so thrilled. The skirt is such a classic style that I would be tempted to undo all your lovely hand stitched hem and shorten it. Don't give up yet :-)
11/18/12 11:02 AM
Lynmarie said...
I love this skirt, I made one as the pattern and the second skirt I deleted the pleat, I also shortened mine by 2" & stitched each end of the pockets down to stop gaping, made size 8. Your skirt looks great :) Good skirt to wear to work.
11/18/12 3:58 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Thanks guys! Lynmarie, it sounds like you made some interesting modifications. I think it would great without the pleat.
11/18/12 6:05 PM
wendyrb said...
This is very close to being a terrific skirt and wearable as is. You've made/reviewed so many great garments, so take it easy on yourself! There's already put a lot of effort into your skirt and maybe enough? A few suggestions: *** Easiest, wear it with a longer top and cover the pockets. The length proportion might work better? More work: * Pocket gaping open- The skirt is wool; you might be able to "encourage" the pockets to cup over your hip. Try the skirt on and pinch out the amount you want to disappear. Press with steam a-plenty over a pressing ham to see if you can reduce the excess. You might even try a smallish basting stitch to draw it in and then press. 2 other reviewers have less hip curve, so a non-issue. * Pleat opening up- without any ripping, try moving up the pleat underlay only; tug it up at the top. It should bring the outer pleat creases closer together. You'd have to release the waistband a bit to insert that extra you're nixing. That is- if I'm guessing right on the pleat construction.
11/18/12 6:25 PM
Mary Nanna said...
I like it - although I happen to like what others think of as dowdy! I can't see the problem with the pockets from your photo so it may be just the photo or maybe a case of "I sewed it" which means you notice every gape and feel responsible for it. Thanks for the link to your blog - I didn't realise you wrote one, and now I can also see all the lovely other hand crafted items you are making.
11/18/12 7:27 PM
JEF said...
Your sweater is amazingly cute and the skirt is certainly wearable. Maybe it'll grow on you a bit more as time passes.
11/19/12 12:12 PM
FreyaStark said...
I think the skirt is better than you think, and it could grow on you with time. The length seems just right to me, and it goes well with that cardie. The gaping pockets obviously must be annoying but don't let them bug you. The whole outfit works well. Just give yourself time to get used to it.
12/2/12 4:22 AM
meggy said...
Frankly, I think you are seeing things :) This skirt not only looks very well made but great on you! I love it.
12/7/12 9:47 PM
BeaJay said...
I think this looks good on you. Shame that you are not happy. I have this pattern so thank you very much for the review.
12/8/12 7:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Laughing Moon Mercantile 111
photo
Review by SewEccentr... on 1/31/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Aviator Cap Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Aviator Cap Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5153
photo
Review by Heatherriq... on 9/26/06
Read Review

Butterick 6582 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Butterick 6582 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1339 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1339 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us